Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-14-2019, 08:37 AM   #1

Trip Prepping

I'm still pretty new to the RV world, and learning all of the tricks to make things easier. I've got a weekend trip coming up, and wondering how you all get your trailer set up beforehand?

My main question is the absorption fridge. Last trip we took, we just loaded an ice chest with everything. Turned the fridge on once we were parked at the campsite, after a couple of hours, unloaded everything from the ice chest into the freezer, put as many ice packs as we could into the fridge, and then right before going to bed, moved most of the stuff into the fridge. It worked, but I feel like there has to be an easier way.

My trailer is parked in a storage lot, with no cover, and no power. Temperatures this week have been over 100 degrees, so I can't imagine how hot it is inside the trailer. I've thought about turning the gas on overnight, but not sure I trust that, especially since the place is abandoned at night. Also I realized last night that my battery is dead, and I think that is necessary for the fridge to run off of gas.

Any suggestions on a good way to cool down the fridge prior to parking at the campsite?
JMod45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!