Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 07-19-2016, 02:29 PM   #1
Question What does an EPDM rubber roof need?

Just bought a 1999 Class A with an EPDM roof that appears to be in decent shape but overdue for some sealing. I'm not an expert on this, and would rather pay an expert than go the DIY route (lots of other demands on my time right now).

First shop I called sounded pretty confident that typically a roof needs to be cleaned and conditioned, and spot-sealed, on an annual basis. But when I asked about a complete re-coating with liquid EPDM, he said that was more of a band-aid hack than a preferred treatment. The important thing is to keep the roof membrane clean and conditioned, and spot seal the seams and edges.

He did say that after years of spot sealing, a roof typically requires a "peel & seal" where they spend 7-8 hours on their knees carefully peeling all the old stuff off before applying new sealant.

Any thoughts on this? Recommendations for a reputable shop in west Tennessee that I could trust to do a quality job and not rip me off?

1999 Thor Four Winds Windsport M-30Q
JimmyNeutron is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!