Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2015, 03:47 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
traveler of california's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,048
What to Run on 50 Amps

We have a 50 amp rig and were discussing what the limits would be. When both ACs are running can you operate the washer/dryer? What about the microwave?

Just curious about the limits as my wife and I disagree on what is possible and I'd rather ask than be sorry later.
__________________

__________________
Nick
Allegro Red 34QFA 2014
traveler of california is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-22-2015, 03:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
djbmsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Charlotte Harbor, FL
Posts: 1,806
Run it all you should have no problems.
__________________

__________________
Don and Nancy
[2014 40QBH Phaeton, 2015 Buick Enclave, 2yr old sisters Sara n Kaycee, Havanese, Two Segways
djbmsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2015, 03:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 4,507
On 50 amps run what you want to. I run both airs, washer/dryer microwave water heater ect. Airs run about 13 amp each x 2 .
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2015, 03:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tha_Rooster View Post
On 50 amps run what you want to. I run both airs, washer/dryer microwave water heater ect. Airs run about 13 amp each x 2 so that leaves you 24 amps in theory.

Actually a properly wired 50 amp pedestal will give you 2 legs of 50 amp power through a double pole breaker. Depending on how well your coach builder divided up the possible electrical loads, you have a possible 100 amps of 120VAC available.


Steve Ownby
Full time since '07
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2015, 04:08 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,385
Steve beat me to it!

30 amp = 30 X 120 = 3,600 watts
50 amp = 50 X 120 X 2 = 12,000 watts

Our Magna is one of the few rigs that actually can use the 240 volts for the dryer though. Haven't had a chance to see how that works out with running other stuff.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2015, 05:16 PM   #6
Community Administrator
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,592
When I ran everything, I never came close to drawing 50 amps on either leg. Usually around 35 amps.
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2015, 06:09 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Scottybdivin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spicewood Texas (West of Austin)
Posts: 3,334
Does the same apply if you have 3 AC's? 2 of them have to be on the same leg. Hopefully, the load center is balanced and not too many circuits are on that particular leg. I have never opened the cover on the pasnel to se how the legs are divided.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0441.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	126.8 KB
ID:	94958   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0442.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	143.0 KB
ID:	94959  

__________________
Scotty and Kristen, Airedales Dagny and Wyatt
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528, 450 HP ISM, Allison 4000, 8 Trojan T-105's
2014 F150 4x4 Crew Cab Platinum 157" WB
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2, RVI2 Brake System
Scottybdivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 07:17 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,062
It's conceivable to exceed 50A on one leg, but extremely unlikely. Even with two a/c on one leg. At worst you trip a breaker, either the 50A main in the coach or the one on the shore power pedestal, so it's just an inconvenience.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 07:18 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
The way I usually say it is to describe the limits for 15/20/30 amps and when it gets to 50 I say "All you can eat"

Let me tell you the WORST case if you run too much stuff...

CLICK, and it all stopps working

You then turn off the last thing you turned on (or the water heater) go out and re-set the breaker and it all works again.

That is the worst case. You trip the breaker.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 07:40 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
mojoracing's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: northern IL
Posts: 2,557
Am I correct to say that if you have an energy management system it probably wouldn't even go click, the ems would shed a load?
__________________
2014 Fleetwood Bounder 35k
mojoracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 07:47 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
mojoracing's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: northern IL
Posts: 2,557
Heck, I have run just about everything and had my race trailer plugged into the coach that runs some pretty hefty outside spot lights (when I put them on while on ten, it drags the ten down a bit), interior florescent lights and a compressor and never blown a breaker.
__________________
2014 Fleetwood Bounder 35k
mojoracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 07:47 AM   #12
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by mojoracing View Post
Am I correct to say that if you have an energy management system it probably wouldn't even go click, the ems would shed a load?

My EMS does not shed loads on 50 amps or generator.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 07:55 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
mojoracing's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: northern IL
Posts: 2,557
Good point! I never checked. I know it sheds loads when plugged into 30 or even 20 at home. I guess I never looked because I never had problems when plugged into 50. Like they say.....if all else fails, read the instructions!
__________________
2014 Fleetwood Bounder 35k
mojoracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 02:35 PM   #14
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by mojoracing View Post
Good point! else fails, read the instructions!

If all else fails, follow it. This was advice from one of my High School teachers.
__________________

__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any product to schedule on/off run of Onan QD generator Bad Bolt RV Systems & Appliances 3 12-07-2014 08:57 PM
Inverter to run fridge gary276 Boondocking 8 10-24-2014 11:38 PM
Pioneer Radio run on shore power? DAW Class C Motorhome Discussions 18 07-02-2014 11:30 AM
How long do you run your generator? TravelDuo RV Systems & Appliances 17 03-17-2014 10:10 AM
Norcold won't run on AC jimaxp RV Systems & Appliances 3 02-17-2014 02:08 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.