Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-09-2019, 11:21 AM   #1

Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Winterize ice maker & washing machine

Taking delivery of a new to us Fleetwood Expedition DP next week. It has an ice maker and a washer/dryer that I have no experience winterizing.

When winterizing our old Bounder, I used a small air compressor at low volume to clear the water lines then put antifreeze in the P-traps, seal conditioner in the toilet bowl and drained the water heater. Never had an issue in the 15 years we had the Bounder. The coldest winter here can be about 15° - 18° F and not really sustained for too long.

I don't foresee any problems continuing this method but thought I'd ask here because there's RVers here much smarter than me.

Will using a low volume air compressor work with the ice maker and washing machine rather than taking pipes apart & draining? Do I need to use antifreeze with each?
95f5334j is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!