Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2011, 05:04 PM   #1
Registered User


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,198
Wireless temp sensor?

I bought a weather station cause I like to know the inside and outside temp...

I'd like it to accurately read outside temp, moving and stationary, genny running or not.

I searched a bit for locations to put the wireless outside temp sensor. Note this gizmo, while meant to be used outside, is not actually weatherproof.

Best I found was inside a rear view mirror, alas, not an option, no idea how to get them apart.

Next best is either inside the poropane compartment, or in one of the fantastic vent covers on the roof.

What say you?
__________________

__________________
JimM68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-07-2011, 05:12 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 258
I zapped mine to the underside of one of the slides, always in the shade and readings seem accurate when parked. I don't try to read it when underway so can't say how it would be then. I don't think inside the mirrors would work as enclosed spaces can heat up in the sun.
__________________

__________________
Dave
2004 Newmar KSDP 3353
Surrey B.C.
srydve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 05:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Shellback1's Avatar


 
Damon Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 721
Send a message via AIM to Shellback1
I put one on the LP tank bracket, out of the sun but you get heat from the exhaust.
__________________
2006 Damon Daybreak 3274 35' Ford F53 V-10
2006 Ion Retired Navy, FAA and PASS Union VP
Shellback1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 07:49 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
mrschwarz's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 876
Send a message via Skype™ to mrschwarz
Mine is on the propane tank. Because it's a pusher, there's no exhaust to worry about. I also have a thermometer in the toad that is very accurate. The wireless sensor always reads a couple of degrees warmer so it's picking up heat somewhere.

I guess I'll keep searching . . .
__________________
Michael
2017 Allegro Bus 45OPP, Cummins ISL 450, Allison 3000
mrschwarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 08:54 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Luckiest Dreamer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,188
I got a small battery powered inside/out that has a wired sender. I ran the wire through the rubber boot that is around the steering wheel and mounted the sender on a bracket behind the hood and well above any road splash. Now, all I have to do is keep the AAA battery fresh and wait to see if it works as advertized.
__________________
Larry B, Luckiest Dreamer
Luckiest Dreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 09:03 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Luckiest Dreamer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,188
I installed a wired one so I would know what the temp is while driving. "Don't like black ice". Mine works with AAA batteries. I fed the wire through the rubber boot that is around the steering wheel shaft and the senser sticks to a surface behind the grill. Mine is well above the road surface and out of any open grill area. It works well in the parking lot! Now I just need to keep a fresh battery and wait for a road trip. I believe it cost me around $10 at a truck stop.
__________________
Larry B, Luckiest Dreamer
Luckiest Dreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 09:07 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
HD4Mark's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marathon, Florida
Posts: 2,894
We have two sending units. I put one in a battery tray, out of the sun and not it a closed compartment and the other in the water bay to monitor the temp in case of freezing.
__________________
Mark & Nancy
2004 Winnebago Vectra 40KD
Shep dog, R.I.P. Kenzie dog Toad 2015 Jeep Wrangler Willys Wheeler
HD4Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 11:06 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Gary - K7GLD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,696
Ours is the wired type - the wireless ones I've tried were unreliable, dropped the signal too often. Our sending unit is installed behind the lower front splash panel just above the bumper - no issues with the elements, works great...
__________________
John Day....|'88 Winnebago Super Chief 27ft. Class A
Eastern .....|'88 KIT model 240 24 ft. 5er
Oregon ......|'02 Dodge/Cummins 2500 Quad Cab
Gary - K7GLD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 12:34 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
I hooked mine to the propane tank, alas the generator heats that area however.
Under the rear cap, or just behind the front bumper (Best) though in my case (Gasser) the front bumper can see some engine heat when stationary.... I'm nto often stationary with engine running.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 08:43 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
nosticks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hiawassee, Ga.
Posts: 630
I have two of them. One set I place in the refrigerator and the remote in the freezer. I can then tell the min/max temp which lets me know if the freezer thawed out and refroze. The other one, I put the remote in a ziplock gallon freezer bag and taped it to the inside of the propane compartment close to the bottom which is open to the road.
__________________

__________________
2017 Thor Freedom Elite 29fe
nosticks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suggestions for where to place wireless temp sensor okmunky Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 20 06-16-2011 12:20 PM
Resetting the Service light 4x4crazy Cummins Engines 6 03-01-2011 09:26 PM
Ford 460 7.5L Temp Sensor Location BBear Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 5 07-15-2010 11:28 PM
Ambient outside air temp sensor capj66 Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 2 12-17-2009 05:50 PM
Auto Gen Start - Where is the Temp Sensor JavaJelly Newmar Owner's Forum 12 03-13-2007 01:52 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.