Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Closed Thread
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2006, 06:57 PM   #1
Member
 
leemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: selah wa.
Posts: 40
can anyone tell me how to wire a 50 amp service at the main power panel? do i use two single pole 50 amp breakers. I asume that they work off the same 120 volt bar? My motorhome's set up with a 50 amp plug with 3 blade's and 1 bare copper gnd. should be 120v + 120v + common + gnd. If i used a regular 50 amp breaker that would give me 240v. right? don't want that. thx. ahead of time. Lee
__________________

__________________
Lee & Maxine and dogs coco & mollie. toad. 05 chevy HHR. Two Honda ATV.s Deuce Hauler trailer. To take it all with me. Fun and Games

two atv.s & Deuce Hauler trailer so i can take it all with me
leemax is offline  
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-03-2006, 06:57 PM   #2
Member
 
leemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: selah wa.
Posts: 40
can anyone tell me how to wire a 50 amp service at the main power panel? do i use two single pole 50 amp breakers. I asume that they work off the same 120 volt bar? My motorhome's set up with a 50 amp plug with 3 blade's and 1 bare copper gnd. should be 120v + 120v + common + gnd. If i used a regular 50 amp breaker that would give me 240v. right? don't want that. thx. ahead of time. Lee
__________________

__________________
Lee & Maxine and dogs coco & mollie. toad. 05 chevy HHR. Two Honda ATV.s Deuce Hauler trailer. To take it all with me. Fun and Games

two atv.s & Deuce Hauler trailer so i can take it all with me
leemax is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 07:06 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Don (W5IT)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Greenwell Springs, LA EBR
Posts: 2,255
Lee the 50amp RV service IS a 220 volt service just as your hose is....

A double pole breaker is what you will need.

There are many folks like yourself that think the RV service is some super complicated unique animal that is NOT a 220 volt receptacle. They are convinced by folks that it is only 110 volt. They are wrong. Just as they would be wrong to tell you your house is two separate 110 volt connections.

I would suggest you get a licensed electrician to do the wiring for you.
__________________
Don Fauntleroy (W5IT) 99 F-350 Cab and Chassis with a Herrin Hauler bed now towing a 2006 3612 DS Raptor Toyhauler. 2002 and 2006 National Rally Wagonmaster.
"Words of Wisdom"
Don (W5IT) is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 07:10 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fulltiming. Living wherever the jacks hit the ground.
Posts: 138
Wrong, you do want that. This subject is now over 7 pages long in the Winnebago Owners Forum, and RV Systems and Appliances.

The service is 120/240 volt. If you wire it as you suggest you take a chance on overloading the neutral. Overloading the neutral causes heat. Too much heat causes fire. Fire burns up your RV. Use a double pole, 50 amp breaker, with 6/3 with ground wire.

http://www.myrv.us/electric/index.htm
http://users3.ev1.net/%7Ecrossstitch...ng/wiring.html
__________________
Bob Hatch
Bob Hatch is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 07:19 PM   #5
Administrator Emeritus
 
rebelsbeach's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 9,732
As Bob Hatch mentions, HERE
is a forum topic some seven pages long dealing with this same subject...

I'll close this one to prevent duplication...
__________________
2017 40' Renegade Verona LE LTS
2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara 4 door
Blue Ox Avail and SMI Air Force One
rebelsbeach is offline  
Closed Thread



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running 50 Amp coach on 30 Amp service Higgins RV Systems & Appliances 7 11-26-2008 05:46 AM
Wondering if I can use a 50 amp converter cord with my 30 amp service? luke_vardanian Travel Trailer Discussion 12 11-10-2008 04:34 AM
Upgrade 30 amp to 50 amp service Kazoo Tom Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 20 09-20-2007 06:41 PM
I want to change out my 30 amp service for a 50 amp NCTarheel 5th Wheel Discussion 10 07-19-2006 08:58 AM
30 Amp Wiring Question RustyJC RV Systems & Appliances 17 07-13-2005 01:19 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.