Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-15-2018, 01:13 PM   #1

Advice

I'm new to the RV lifestyle, so forgive me if I ask too many stupid questions. My fiance and I just purchased a 1988 Winnebago after deciding that we wanted to RV full time. We have 9 children between us but only 5 full time (mine) so we know it's going to be cramped. We've lived in a camper first just to feel it out and they've adjusted well.

This being an older rv, it has come with its issues. We had a power issue right out of the gate that turned out to be an easy fix. Then an issue with the water but thankfully it was only a leaky faucet. Once he figured our how to light the pilot, we were cooking with gas. Now we have a concerning issue I have no clue how to address.

After about 24 hours of using the toilet with the black water tank closed, we get this horrible stench both through the toilet itself and outside near the hatches where the tank is located. There is no leak that we can see and once we empty the tank the smell leaves until the next day. I know from previous research that your not supposed to leave the blackwater tank open due to the solids becoming too solid. The lady who owned it previously said she never closed the valve so my fear is that the solids are going to have to be broken up.