Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > New Member Check-In
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2013, 09:16 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 24
1995 Coachmen Santara speedometer, odometer, cruise not working

We just bought a new to us 1995 Coachmen Santara Class A, that the speedometer, odometer and cruise are not working on. The cluster has been replaced and the garage (who replaced them) thinks it may be an amplifier but said they are not made anymore and they can't get one from Coachmen anymore. HELP We are moving back to Canada and need to get it working. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. side note: the lights and TV above the dash are also not working. Could this be related? Thanks
__________________

__________________
canadianmama is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-06-2013, 09:00 AM   #2
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,200
Hi and welcome to IRV2! We're glad to have you join us!

I can't help with your problem but I would suggest that you post questions over in the appropriate areas of the forum for best results. Not many folks hang out here in the Welcome area.

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!
__________________

__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 07:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 6,295
Welcome and glad to meet you!
__________________
FMCA #F431170, GS #822128658, Escapees SKP #112655
2012 Airstream Mercedes Interstate Class B
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 08:02 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
genesimmons's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: western n.c.
Posts: 381
well, i don't know about the cruise control.but you can buy a scangauge and read the speed from that and any other problems it detect them also
__________________
07 bounder 35e/workhorse
17 jayco 29me
genesimmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 11:51 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 24
We have a code scanner.....is that the same thing? If so where do you attach it to get reading? If not, where would we buy one of scanners you mention?
Thank you very much for your reply.
__________________
canadianmama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 11:54 AM   #6
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,110
Welcome to IRV2.

Cliff
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 12:16 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Nick-B's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vaughn, WA
Posts: 1,364
Hi canadianmamma an Welcome to the Forum.
Coachmen and FR won't be of any help with chassis parts. Which engine/chassis do you have? Probably either Ford or Chevy, although there were a few diesel model Santaras made also.
Depending on which chassis you have it could be a bad speed control module which feeds/controls all your issues.
__________________
Nick
1995 Coachmen Santara 360MB 36' w/slide.
Ford F53/460 chassis, 1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee "toad"
Nick-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 05:43 PM   #8
Community Administrator
 
JohnRR's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Marquette, Michigan "Da UP"
Posts: 16,939
__________________
John & Cathy R.
06 Pace Arrow 38L W24
08 14 Lincoln MKX AWD
See My RV Upgrades
JohnRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 11:42 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
spritz's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: c above
Posts: 4,947
We kind of had the same problem, but our Battery,Oil Pressure,and cruise stopped working end of last year. Just for the heck of it I checked the fuses this spring and there was a 25 fuse that had blown. I replaced it and everything is working again. I didn't think it would have been a fuse but it was. Look thru the internet for Old Motor Home Parts. (no offense ours is a 82.)
Good luck, Tim
__________________
spritz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 12:09 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
genesimmons's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: western n.c.
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by canadianmama View Post
We have a code scanner.....is that the same thing? If so where do you attach it to get reading? If not, where would we buy one of scanners you mention?
Thank you very much for your reply.
look here, you can mailorder from different online retailers ScanGauge - Trip Computer + Digitial Gauges + ScanTools
__________________
07 bounder 35e/workhorse
17 jayco 29me
genesimmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 02:14 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Nick-B's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vaughn, WA
Posts: 1,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by genesimmons View Post
look here, you can mailorder from different online retailers ScanGauge - Trip Computer + Digitial Gauges + ScanTools
The ScanGauge is a nice unit. Unfortunately, it won't work on her older chassis which is not OBDII compliant.
__________________
Nick
1995 Coachmen Santara 360MB 36' w/slide.
Ford F53/460 chassis, 1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee "toad"
Nick-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 06:47 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 24
Thank you all for your comments! I took your advice and also posted on the Ford chassis forum and will try a speed sensor. We will also check the fuses. I know my husband has checked the ones in the motor home but not sure if he checked others. We are currently using GPS for speed monitoring but need to get it working again. Once again...thanks all!
__________________

__________________
canadianmama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
coachmen



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.