Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > New Member Check-In
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-06-2012, 01:25 PM   #1

college student planning to full-time to save $

Hi, I'm an older college student who just bought a 2003 Keystone Montana Mountaineer to live in full-time when I transfer to a University in Oregon in the fall. I'm new to rving, but look forward to the independence of not having to share the kitchen with roommates or deal with a landlord who decides what I can and cannot put on my walls. I also have a small dog who will hopefully be happier in a trailer than an apartment.

The trailer I bought is kind of rough and needs some repairs and maintenance, which is all new to me, but the floors and ceiling appear to be good and solid.

First on my list of repairs is the awning which rotted and tore off from accumulated debris and the bedroom full-size closet mirrors which are cracked from an unsecured tv bouncing around. Any advice and suggestions from more experienced Rvers about these, or any other, topics of RV maintenance are appreciated. I downloaded an owner's manual from the manufacturer, but its frustratingly vague. I'm still not certain how the plumbing works, or what I should be doing to maintain and preserve the batteries. Heck, I just discovered that in addition to the switches on the lights themselves there are also master switches at the entrance to the living room and bedroom that control all the lights in that room. That was a frustrating half hour.