Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > New Member Check-In
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 05-26-2010, 07:41 AM   #1
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Hello to all!

Another newbie here. 20 years ago we had a Travelcraft Class C for a few years, and this past week broke down and bought a 2003 Bounder. Found it on the internet in southern California, and 2750 miles later, here it is in Pennsylvania.

Heck of a shakedown trip - only had 5 days off to get it home. We had one scare - in Arizona the cruise control kicked off and I looked down and saw a message on the dash saying "engine operating at reduced power," and it really was - limp mode I've heard it called. Luckily we were at an exit, so we pulled right off. Shutdown, checked everything out, restarted and the engine appeared fine but we had the check engine light illuminated. Drove it to the nearest garage, restarted it for the mechanic, and the light was now gone! Ran great for the remaining 2000+ miles.

I've heard that there was probably some kind of emissions glitch that caused the computer to protect the engine, but when I get it inspected maybe I'll have them check the old codes that came up.

So far we're very happy with our new/old Bounder and we're looking forward to our first leisurely trip. I've already pulled some very good info from these forums. Thanks!

Allentown, PA
Foulwx is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!