Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > New Member Check-In
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 09-28-2011, 09:26 PM   #1
New guy from Florida

Hi, I am new to being a member but have been lurking on this site and others for information for a while. I havenít bought a RV yet but I am actively looking. I am retired military, kids are grown (well they think they are) and no DW to tell me what to do. I want to go see America, spend time in the places I have flown over or drove by without the time to enjoy it.

My plan is to buy a used older DP MH(Ď92-Ď96) or what fits into my budget. I plan to tow my older Ď90 Toyota 4x4 (2700 pounds) with about a 325 pound super jet (old school jet ski) in the bed incase the places I stop are friendly to that sort of thing. If this adventure goes for 6 months or 5 years I am sure it will be worth it.

I have budgeted each month 500 for fuel, 400 for food, 450 for camp fees, 500 for the maintenance fund, 600 for odds and ends (ins, phone, satellite, tags, and such) and having other money left over for spending as I see fit. I will be debt free when I depart here except possibly my newer truck or if I go with a newer MH and have to get a loan to assist with it. I can sell my newer truck any time and make a few grand off it if need be. Itís just not in my budget to have a truck and motorhome payment.