Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > New Member Check-In
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-24-2016, 08:52 AM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Texas
Posts: 28
New Member !!

Hi, We are in the process of buying a motorhome and find all the info on here very helpful !!!! Never had a 50 amp coach before, can I plug it into my garage 15 amp plug to keep the batteries fresh and fridge cool ????

Robf is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-24-2016, 10:52 AM   #2
Senior Member
TonyDi's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Posts: 6,238

Glad to have you here with us.

Yes you can plug it into a 15 amp plug. However you will need an adapter which is called a dog bone. When you get it you'll see why it's called that. You should also get one for 50a down to 30a. You may not always have 50a available.

Good luck and Happy Trails!!!

Tony & Ruth........... FMCA#F416727
Newmar Dutch Star 4320, Spartan MM Chassis, Cat C9, Jeep Grand Cherokee,with Hemi, hooked up with a Blue Ox Aventa LX, and Brake Buddy.
TonyDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 11:42 AM   #3
Senior Member/RVM #90
MSHappyCampers's Avatar

Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 19,303
Welcome to IRV2! We're sure glad you joined the gang!

Congrats on the new rig! Yes, you can plug it into a standard house outlet with the proper adapters! Keep her between the ditches!

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 01:34 PM   #4
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA (Stick & Brick)
Posts: 2,510
Just don't get over-enthusiastic once you've hooked up to a regular house outlet. It might be wise to put a dedicated circuit breaker in line with the outlet.

We were fortunate that the builder of our house (in 1999) put a circuit for a dedicated computer outlet. Since I didn't need it for a computer, I got an outlet installed in a weather proof outside receptacle hooked to it for keeping the RV powered. We could use it to bring the fridge temp down before a trip, and for occasionally using the passenger entertainment system. It came in really handy when family staying with us used the RV on the driveway as extra sleeping space. The outlet had a quick-acting 20A breaker.
Frank Damp -Anacortes, WA,(DW- Eileen)
ex-pat Brits (1968) and now ex-RVers, as of 08 Dec 14.
frankdamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 01:47 PM   #5
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Texas
Posts: 28
I appreciate the advice, and I do have a dedicated 20 amp plug with a weather proof cover..... it is a gfi so I hope that does not cause a problem ????
Robf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 04:34 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
Bruce C's Avatar
Nor'easters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NH
Posts: 5,100
Bruce & Nancy
FMCA F280542
2004 Bounder 35E
US Navy Vet.
Bruce C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 04:28 PM   #7
Senior Member
denlock's Avatar
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 2,724

Tricia & Dennis Lockhart
2010 Ventana 4333
Spartan MM w/Cummins 360 ISC
denlock is offline   Reply With Quote

new member

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jr. member Sr. member Supporting member Outlaw Forum 101 | Announcements | Member Concerns 10 12-14-2014 01:20 PM
New member/New MH/New Life. GrassShack New Member Check-In 30 07-18-2012 04:21 PM
New member buys senior member coach Todd49 New Member Check-In 4 01-07-2011 06:10 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.