Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > New Member Check-In
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 12-30-2012, 01:46 AM   #1

New member here. Just got my first drivable RV

Just got a 1979 Holiday Rambler 36' class A. I am new to RV'ing but not new to driving large vehicles. I have been driving 18 wheelers for 11 years now. She is in good overall condition and runs great. Drives good. Under 40K miles on her so was hardley ever used. Dodge drivetrain, tag axle, dual roof heat/air units, 7K Kohler genset, 3 way fridge, leveling jacks, ice maker, spotlight with remote controls, Themasan system, air horns, power steps, no leaks, and has the rooftop cargo box on the rear roof. I am looking for all the info I can get on this thing. It came with all the manuals for all the appliances as well as the owners and chassis manuals. 6" thick binder for it all. Even has wiring diagrams in there.
I build and fly radio control planes and helicopters as well as cars as a hobbie. Been doing it for over 20 years. I am a very good mechanic, was an electrician in the Navy, have basic bodywork skills, but can fix about anything. I am going to be living in this RV full time starting next month so will be working on getting everything hooked up and tested this week so I can make a good list of what needs fixed or needs maint. I am open to any pointers/suggestions you have as I have never done this before. I am sure at some point this will be me
Rcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!