Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > New Member Check-In
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-11-2011, 08:38 AM   #1

New to RV-ing, Bought 1980 Pace Arrow with 28K Miles

Hello everyone, my name is Rich Truesdelland I'm the new proud owner of a 1980 Pace Arrow 30-foot motorhome.

It's exceptionally clean inside and out and I have some camera phone photos of it posted here if anyone is curious.

First off, I am a total newbie, have never owned a motorhome, never drove one until last Friday when I drove my Pace Arrow 80 miles from Victorville, CA where I bought it to my home near Temecula. To say that it was interesting, would be an understatement. Even though I am an automotive journalist, the biggest vehicle I had ever driven previously was a Dodge Ram 3500 dually so I did feel that I was driving a top heavy box on wheels.

(Background, about two months ago I wrote a feature for Automotive Traveler Magazine on the 1973-1978 GMC MotorHomes which is where I got the RV bug. That's what I really wanted but all were priced well outside of my budget.)

The unit has sat for a while and went through a series of transactions so the seller I bought it from didn't know too much about it. I have been going through it to get it ready to live in for the rest of the summer. First step was to test the coach batteries -- both were bad -- so I replaced them with 27DC batteries from Walmart so the coach now has power.