Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > New Member Check-In
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-03-2011, 05:39 AM   #1

Vintage RV Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Newbie need fridge help

Hi fellow RV'rs:

OK I'm a total newbie. I just joined irv2 just yesterday. I inherited a 1990 Bounder 34s motor home with only 6800 miles on it from my father. It is a class A, 34 foot motor home with no slide outs. My father had purchased it brand new to live in after his home burned down in a wildfire. He just lived in it until his home was rebuilt and then he took it on a few trips but it mostly just sat. He kept it in case of another fire (he lived it a very high fire area of CA). It sat uncovered in a field on his property but some health problems lead him to neglect it and the last 10yrs it has just been sitting in the hot CA sun in a field. It has suffered mice infestation and some sun damage. I dug a huge rats nest out of the engine compartment and was able to get it started and moved into my driveway and plugged into an outlet on the side of my home. Surprisingly the mice didn't nah through many of the wires because they were all surrounded by plastic wire protection tubes but the 8 cubic refrigerator/freezer doesn't work (Model: Dometic RM2804). It operates on gas or electric but neither will make it work. When I run it under electric power it just blows the breaker in my house and when I run it under gas the pilot light starts up but it just makes a strange gurgling sound