Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > New Member Check-In
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-22-2010, 09:00 PM   #1

Newer than new

Hello!

I have zero RV experience other than walking through some used ones and ordering a copy of Woodall's. It has been my dream to "go west" and "do the National Parks"... The plan is for DW, 3 DS's (14, 12 and 9) and myself to fly to Vegas at the end of June and spend 4 weeks in a rented RV driving, camping and hiking.

I am trying to do all the research and planning I can so this is a trip to remember and not a trip to forget (maybe I've seen too many movies)! I love the idea of RV'ing and am really looking forward to it. Hopefully your vast experience will help! Any guidance is appreciated!

Some questions that come to mind are: Class A or C? We don't want to be too cramped and I'm not afraid to drive a big rig, but we also don't want to have trouble fitting at camps and getting around the parks. Maybe we should tow a vehicle? Is the best way to break camp everyday and drive the RV to hiking spots, or is it better to have a towed car? Or take shuttles? Or just make sure we're close enough to walk to hiking?

Any suggestions on rental places in the Vegas area?

Thanks for the help! I'm sure I will have more questions, but this will get me started in the right direction! I do appreciate it!

Doug
dazras is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!