Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > New Member Check-In
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-19-2018, 05:30 PM   #1

Tech Contractor

Hello. I have no RV at this point, but have been looking into it. I am an engineer, self-employed contractor, with a nice job network in the Chicago-land area. I am looking at the idea of moving from an Illinois-based house into an RV and then accepting contract work from warmer cities, staying 6 month to a few years at each place. After reading a good dose of RV lifestlye and technical issues, I started looking at maps for RV parks that were, for example, close to my current worksite. I was somewhat shocked that there were so few, as there are 3 nice sites near the house I live in, but nothing much closer to work than where I am now, which is an hour away. I thought maybe Chicagoland jus isn't going to have much, so I looked at a couple random cities, like Phoenix and Austin, which seemed a bit better. Has anyone come across someone living the model I am thinking of where you set up an RV near a high-tech work area and drive the commuter car into work each day, then setup somewhere else when the next 6to24-month contract pops up? I am not sure if price-wise and time-wise it would be as good as staying at Extended Stays and renting a U-Haul to move between them.
GoForth is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!