Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Forum 101 | Announcements | Member Concerns
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2009, 04:32 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: East Texas
Posts: 29
We can log in from our laptop with no problem, but are unable to log in from our desktop.
We have tried deleting cookies & temp files and it didn't help.

We show up as ns09 in the users online, but do not show up as logged in, in the Welcome blue line.

Any log in attempts are unsuccessful.

Does anyone have any ideas where we are going wrong.

we use the same name & passwords on both computers.
Desktop, win XP & McAfee internet security.
Laptop, win Vista & McAfee internet security.

Thanks for any help,
Neal
__________________

__________________
ns09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-20-2009, 06:12 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
K-Star's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Fulltime - Currently somewhere in the lower 48
Posts: 2,215
First question is: Are you logging out before attempting to login with the other computer? Next, did you click the REMEMBER ME box when you logged in.

If you have Remember Me checked and do not logout when you leave, you may not be able to login with another computer. I'm not sure about this, but worth a try.
__________________

__________________
John, Joyce & Zoie the Terrier. - Fulltime since `08

2017 Solitude by Grand Design
2012 Ford F-450 Lariat
K-Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 02:56 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Are you running IE or Firefox?

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 04:42 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: East Texas
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally posted by K-Star:
First question is: Are you logging out before attempting to login with the other computer? Next, did you click the REMEMBER ME box when you logged in.

If you have Remember Me checked and do not logout when you leave, you may not be able to login with another computer. I'm not sure about this, but worth a try.
I had not previously logged out & had checked the remember me box, so we did log out, then booted the desktop computer & tried to log in, but it failed again.

Thanks for the effort
__________________
ns09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2009, 05:03 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: East Texas
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally posted by TXiceman:
Are you running IE or Firefox?

Ken
Running IE on both.
Desktop has IE Ver 7.0.56??.???, Cipher 128
Laptop has IE Ver 7.0.6001.???, Cipher 256
__________________
ns09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 09:31 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
K-Star's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Fulltime - Currently somewhere in the lower 48
Posts: 2,215
Neal

Don't know what else to say except check the IE security settings between the two computers. If there are any differences, change to match the laptop.

I'll see if there is anyone else around to help.
__________________
John, Joyce & Zoie the Terrier. - Fulltime since `08

2017 Solitude by Grand Design
2012 Ford F-450 Lariat
K-Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 05:16 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
K-Star's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Fulltime - Currently somewhere in the lower 48
Posts: 2,215
Niel

Have you cleared cookies on both machines?

Are you set to globally accept cookies on each machine?

You say you are using McAfee; is that McAfee Anti-Virus or Internet Security?

Is it possible McAfee is interfering with cookies on your desktop?
__________________
John, Joyce & Zoie the Terrier. - Fulltime since `08

2017 Solitude by Grand Design
2012 Ford F-450 Lariat
K-Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 04:29 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Neal, have you made any headway. I access the forun through various machines and no problem. The work computers use the industrial strength Norton Anti-virus and a pretty strong firewall. My home machines use AVG 8.0 for both Anti-virus and firewall.

As already suggested, I suspect a problem with the firewall/anti-virus setting on the machine in question.

One thing you might try is to download Mozilla Firefox for your web browser. It is free and I have used it fro 4 years plus now without a problem. It is faster than IE and easier to operate. You can leae IE on the machine and Firefox will sett up all of your current favorites or bookmakrs.

I don't know if Firefox will help it of not, but it does not cost a thing to try it.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 03:31 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: East Texas
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally posted by K-Star:
Niel

Have you cleared cookies on both machines?

Are you set to globally accept cookies on each machine?

You say you are using McAfee; is that McAfee Anti-Virus or Internet Security?

Is it possible McAfee is interfering with cookies on your desktop?
No, we have not cleared cookies on the laptop.
I am not sure about that, we do normally try to keep cookies to only the sites we trust & are necessary to access the site.
We are using McAfee Internet Security, but normally it will ask if we trust this site & give us an option.
We will try to check a little more, when we can.
__________________
ns09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 03:34 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: East Texas
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally posted by TXiceman:
Neal, have you made any headway. I access the forun through various machines and no problem. The work computers use the industrial strength Norton Anti-virus and a pretty strong firewall. My home machines use AVG 8.0 for both Anti-virus and firewall.

As already suggested, I suspect a problem with the firewall/anti-virus setting on the machine in question.

One thing you might try is to download Mozilla Firefox for your web browser. It is free and I have used it fro 4 years plus now without a problem. It is faster than IE and easier to operate. You can leae IE on the machine and Firefox will sett up all of your current favorites or bookmakrs.

I don't know if Firefox will help it of not, but it does not cost a thing to try it.

Ken
Very likely you are right. We are no authority on security setup, but do try to keep it fairly tight.
__________________
ns09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 05:20 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: East Texas
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally posted by ns09:
We can log in from our laptop with no problem, but are unable to log in from our desktop.
We have tried deleting cookies & temp files and it didn't help.

We show up as ns09 in the users online, but do not show up as logged in, in the Welcome blue line.

Any log in attempts are unsuccessful.

Does anyone have any ideas where we are going wrong.

we use the same name & passwords on both computers.
Desktop, win XP & McAfee internet security.
Laptop, win Vista & McAfee internet security.

Thanks for any help,
Neal
So far, it appears the only way we can log in on our desktop computer is to set (http://irv2.infopop.cc) in the trusted zone of IE. Until this point we have been running so all trusted zones had to be https. I guess if it is that important to us, we will have to change the setting, any time we wish to respond.
__________________

__________________
ns09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having to re-log in all the time NLOVNIT Forum 101 | Announcements | Member Concerns 8 01-04-2009 07:15 PM
Log book lthrnk iRV2.com General Discussion 13 04-08-2008 07:52 PM
Why can't I log into classifieds??? rosencra38 Forum 101 | Announcements | Member Concerns 2 04-04-2007 12:23 PM
Log In CalRed Forum 101 | Announcements | Member Concerns 15 03-05-2006 09:21 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.