Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Forum 101 | Announcements | Member Forum Concerns
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-13-2013, 10:15 PM   #15
Community Administrator
JohnRR's Avatar

Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Marquette, Michigan "Da UP"
Posts: 17,415
Originally Posted by justimagination View Post
I have been contacted on two(2) separate occasions about ads in the classifieds section. The first one being on our motorhome ad within the past 60 days, the second being today about accessories in the classified section also. What I am so concerned about, is how did this person get in the site and recover my email address, which is not posted anywhere in the ad ? or correct me if I am wrong, what am I missing here? I just feel that this should not have happened not once, but twice. Thank you and all the staff, I may be wrong, but I felt privacy was on our side being members of IRV2
You do realize there is a "Contact Seller" link in every classifieds ad for someone to contact you. You are correct you do not have your email address listed but it is hidden with in the Contact Seller link.

Not all people interested in something listed are willing to conduct negotiations with someone else in an open forum.

It is impossible to protect from scams on the Internet other than not listing something at all.

John & Cathy R.
06 Pace Arrow 38L W24
08 14 Lincoln MKX AWD
See My RV Upgrades
JohnRR is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-14-2013, 05:02 AM   #16
Administrator in Memoriam
Route 66's Avatar

Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,909
Note that non-members can view the classified ads, but they must register to contact the seller.

Unfortunately, there is no way to know a new members intentions when they register.

As John notes above, the "Contact Seller" link does not reveal your email.

If you reply to an email, then your email is revealed as email is not an iRV2 function.

Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 05:35 AM   #17
Community Administrator
Clifftall's Avatar

Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 31,906
Blog Entries: 1
I have set up a few " new " email addresses to respond to ads I'm running. When the item sells , I'll remove those addresses from my computer and they can scam all they want to in cyberspace.

Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 08:35 AM   #18
Senior Member/RVM #90
MSHappyCampers's Avatar

Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 31,060
In the last few months I have advertised and sold a 5th wheel, toad, and tow vehicle. I advertised them here on IRV2, one Craigslist, autotrader.com, and RVTrader.com. All the scam responses came from the Craigslist ad. I usually received at least one a day and they were all worded about the same so they were very easy to spot. If I had any doubt that it was a scam, I responded with the same message, "I can only accept a direct transfer of funds between your bank and mine". I never heard from them again!
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 08:55 AM   #19
RV Mutant #14
Wayne M's Avatar

Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 12,885
Do you use the same email address on any other web sites? Just thinking outloud.
Wayne MSGT USMC (Ret) & Earlene (CinCHouse)
2015 Winnebago Tour 42QD
It is what it is, and then it is what you make of it.
Wayne M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 10:26 AM   #20
Senior Member
wa8yxm's Avatar
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,022
I will take a shot in the dark at trying to answer the original poster (Cue Inspector theme, which happens to be titled "A Shot in the Dark")

If you are refering to posting something in the For Sale section.. Well, for best results you want the widest audience possible, the more people who see it the better your chances of a sale.

Sadly, this also means.. The more people who see it the more likely SCAMMERS will see it and try to rip you off.

There are only two defenses.

1: Do not post in For Sale areas.. And thus do not sell

2: Read carefully and if it looks like a scam. Take your pick from the following:

Respond with.. nothing (Do not respond)
Respond with.. Already sold
Report the Attempted scam
Do the research (Dissassemble the Envelope (Header) info, if you know how) and if it still smells like a scam. Report it.

NOTE: Scammers often have false info in the "FROM" field and dissassembling the header may catch them .. or not. But if it does it removes all doubt.
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 08:16 PM   #21
Senior Member
Stano's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 601
Why do some of these scammers offer to send a certified check?

2003 Pace Arrow 37A
Winter Home- Arcadia, Florida
USN Vietnam Veteran 1967-1971
Stano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 08:25 PM   #22
Senior Member
Toyduck's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 611
Originally Posted by Stano View Post
Why do some of these scammers offer to send a certified check?

Certified forgery.
Don (RVM19) & Mary,
Furry friends Sophia & Zander
2006 Coachmen Freedom 289QB | 2004 Jeep

I used to be indecisive. Now I'm not so sure..
Toyduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2013, 08:32 PM   #23
Senior Dude
Dogpatch's Avatar

Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Somewhere, BC.
Posts: 5,592
Blog Entries: 8
Originally Posted by Toyduck View Post

Certified forgery.
Exactly! You can buy those check stamping machines at garage sales.
Les (RVM12), Bonnie, Morgan and 4 leggers Bella & Shelby
2010 Forest River Cardinal 3450RL 40' Full Body Paint- 2015 Ram 3500 Laramie 6.7 ltr Turbo Diesel, 68RFE Trans. 4x4 SRW SB Pullrite 2900 18K FMCA-420438 Good Sam
Dogpatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 09:38 AM   #24
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NV
Posts: 2,227
you really have to watch classified adds

johnnyreno is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.