Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Forum 101 | Announcements | Member Concerns
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2015, 07:50 PM   #1
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,345
This is driving me nuts!

I am CONSTANTLY getting the error page "THE CONNECTION WAS RESET", followed by "The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading". This in only happening on IRV2! I thought it was my old computer and bought a new one last week, which does the same thing!
__________________

__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-18-2015, 08:24 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Bfmorgan's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northern United States
Posts: 270
I am guessing that you are using Windows. If you are, try these commands at the cmd prompt:
ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew

There is a space between ipconfig and the /.
This is most likely a router or internet service provider issue. I am not seeing this problem on IRV2 when I am posting. The fact that you have experienced this problem on two computers eliminates the computers as a problem and points to network issues.
__________________

__________________
Brad & Bonnie
2007 Monaco Dynasty 42 Diamond
Bfmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2015, 08:53 PM   #3
Community Administrator
 
NLOVNIT's Avatar


 
Pond Piggies Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
LA Gulf Coast Campers
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 22,305
Blog Entries: 1
As I've stated before, anytime any member has an issue, it is important to tell us:
  • What device you're accessing the site with
  • What browser you're using & if it's an app
  • What OS you have

We need that info to help & to see if something is common with any of those.

It's like someone posting they're having an issue with their levelers without telling us year/make/model of RV or even what brand levelers they have. Our members can't give accurate advice for resolution without knowing enough info. What someone tells me to do for my Atwood Levelegs wouldn't apply to HWH levelers.

So please, don't just report an issue, provide enough background info so we can narrow down advice.

Lori-
__________________
Lori & Dave - FMA #3415 | FMCA #F419886 | RV/MH Hall of Fame Lifetime Member
2006 Fleetwood Bounder 36Z & 2014 Honda CRV EX-L AWD, My iRV2 Photo Albums
How is it one careless match can start a forest fire but it takes a whole box to start a campfire?
NLOVNIT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2015, 09:57 AM   #4
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,345
I'm using Windows 7 on both computers. My "new" computer is a Dell refurbished machine. I use Firefox.
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2015, 10:25 AM   #5
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bfmorgan View Post
I am guessing that you are using Windows. If you are, try these commands at the cmd prompt:
ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew

There is a space between ipconfig and the /.
This is most likely a router or internet service provider issue. I am not seeing this problem on IRV2 when I am posting. The fact that you have experienced this problem on two computers eliminates the computers as a problem and points to network issues.

Brad, I'm using Windows 7. How do I get to the cmd prompt?
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2015, 11:12 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
onlakegaston's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 301
Hit the Windows key and type in "cmd" without quotes.
__________________
Jim, Lisa and Reno
2003 Coachmen Aurora Gold 3510DS Ultra Power Koni FSD Scan Gauge II
Full Time in Mission TX for winter.
onlakegaston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2015, 12:04 PM   #7
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,345
OK, I did that. We'll hope does some good. Thanks!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2015, 09:24 AM   #8
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bfmorgan View Post
I am guessing that you are using Windows. If you are, try these commands at the cmd prompt:
ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew

There is a space between ipconfig and the /.
This is most likely a router or internet service provider issue. I am not seeing this problem on IRV2 when I am posting. The fact that you have experienced this problem on two computers eliminates the computers as a problem and points to network issues.

UPDATE- this made a HUGE difference! It has only done that a couple of times since I put those commands in! Thanks Brad!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2015, 09:40 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,971
I was using W-7, and IE, to log in to iRV2, and having issues, not the same as yours.
I switched to W-10, and started using Google Chrome; on advice from DW and the iRV2 support team; for log-ins, and in 6 weeks have not seen any of the old issues cropping up.
Now to figure out how to get her Acer all in one, to load W-10 as easily as it installed into my HP lap top.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2015, 04:17 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,820
When I get that it usually indicates a flakey internet connection, Not the computer but the modem/router link.

Or sometimes I very strongly suspect it is the "other end" but since I do not see it here I doubt that's the case. (I get it on other pages).
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2015, 04:33 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
87Rockwood's Avatar
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Looking here and there.
Posts: 732
I have a Mac Book Pro and have the same problem on other sites(but not on this site) when I use "free" Wi-Fi. I agree with WA8YXM....
__________________
87Rockwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 09:29 AM   #12
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 26,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bfmorgan View Post
I am guessing that you are using Windows. If you are, try these commands at the cmd prompt:
ipconfig /flushdns
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew

There is a space between ipconfig and the /.
This is most likely a router or internet service provider issue. I am not seeing this problem on IRV2 when I am posting. The fact that you have experienced this problem on two computers eliminates the computers as a problem and points to network issues.

Brad, it's starting to get worse again! Do these commands need to be repeated at regular intervals?
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 12:07 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Nomad Mike's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Nomadic - Currently Near Lassen NF
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSHappyCampers View Post
Brad, it's starting to get worse again! Do these commands need to be repeated at regular intervals?
I suspect your problem is not your computer but your internet connection and/or your equipment in the house - this is your network or LAN (Local Area Network) or the ISP(Internet Service Provider) ie Comcast, AT&T etc.

I say this because it was happening on your old computer too and the commands you entered are networking commands and they may have helped then failed.

What internet service provider and equipment do you have? Are you on a wireless connection or a cable? If wireless, how far are you from your router? Are there other computers on your network - this can include devices such as DVR's, TV's, Dish or DirecTV etc.

Are you sure this never happens when browsing to other websites? Or do you just come here 95% of the time and assume it is irv2.com?
__________________
Luna was born in 2005 and is a Winnebago Journey 34H w/ CAT C7 350
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Nomad Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2015, 12:30 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Jim_HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Full time RV'er
Posts: 1,659
This use to happen to me a lot when I used an older USB WiFi antenna. The age of the RV parks system, or that of the local ISP, contributed to the issue. Over the years, ISP and RV park systems have gotten much better but in the meantime, I purchased a high gain WiFi antenna from Amazon. This lets me squeeze every ounce of signal out of what's available. But I'll also move to a different space in a park to seek out the best signal.

So these sorts of errors, "THE CONNECTION WAS RESET", followed by "The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading" happen to me much less frequently. But, at a RV park where they resist installing and maintaining newer WiFi equipment to meet the demand, it still happens occasionally. And I move on to another park quickly when it does.

Just thinking that perhaps you might consider purchasing a newer high gain USB antenna for your computer to improve the situation? (If you now use an internal antenna in a laptop, that can be shut off so a USB type can be used).

PS I'm using a Panda Wireless 300 BPS USB stick antenna and a 2 meter extension cable that allows me to position the antenna for best reception.
__________________

__________________
'02 Winnebago Journey DL, DSDP, 36' of fun.

Visit my RV Travel & Repair Blog at : http://chaos.goblinbox.com
Jim_HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RV Driving Course- Driving Like a Pro & 5TH & TT's "007" New Rig Show-Off! 67 02-28-2017 07:54 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.