Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Forum 101 | Announcements | Member Concerns
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2008, 12:15 PM   #1
Community Moderator
 
Petro's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Weyauwega, WI US
Posts: 5,787
I have a new HP computer with the latest ver. of Flash 10.0.12.36. I was able last Thursday night to get on Workhorse Chat. I just tried getting on Winnebago and Fireside chat and all I get is a blank blue screen.

Any ideas?

Thanks Don
__________________

__________________
Don & Bev Morgan Weyauwega WI, 05 Itasca Horizon 40KD, 400 HP Cummins, Delorme GPS LT 40, Toad 07 Saturn Vue AWD, Air Force One, TST 510 TPMS, Mayor of Weyauwega 2007 - 2013, Waupaca Co Board Supervisor 2010 - 2014
Petro is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-18-2008, 12:23 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
RustyJC's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cypress, Texas USA
Posts: 8,854
I'm getting the blank blue screen as well. Version 10,0,12,36.

Rusty
__________________

__________________
2016 Ram Longhorn 3500 Dually 4x4 CCLB, 385/900 Cummins, Aisin AS69RC, 4.10
2014.5 DRV Mobile Suites 38RSSA #6972
Come join us on a TEXAS BOOMERS rally!
RustyJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 12:46 PM   #3
Administrator in Memoriam
 
Hitchhiker's Avatar


 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Buladean, NC
Posts: 8,127
OK guys, that's two of you with the exact same symptom. I'll ask Andy to add this to our open Groupee trouble ticket. And the called this process last night an upgrade? Seems more like a downgrade to me.

Richard
__________________
'11 GMC Acadia SLT AWD
'11 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Extended Cab
Hitchhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 01:46 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
ruppr's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Boerne, TX. USA
Posts: 701
Make it three Richard, same version of Flash as above.

Best,
__________________
Ruppr|Kris|2005 Itasca SunCruiser|Ultrapower
(toad) 2007 Ford Focus|Aventa LX|Brakebuddy
WIT|FMCA
ruppr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 01:53 PM   #5
Community Moderator
 
Petro's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Weyauwega, WI US
Posts: 5,787
I just fired up my laptop. I am having the same problem with it. Blue screen and that is all. I also down loaded latest flash driver. I checked 4 computers in all. 3 could not access the Chat Rooms but the one at work did. I can't figure it out.

Don
__________________
Don & Bev Morgan Weyauwega WI, 05 Itasca Horizon 40KD, 400 HP Cummins, Delorme GPS LT 40, Toad 07 Saturn Vue AWD, Air Force One, TST 510 TPMS, Mayor of Weyauwega 2007 - 2013, Waupaca Co Board Supervisor 2010 - 2014
Petro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 06:40 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
K-Star's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Fulltime - Currently somewhere in the lower 48
Posts: 2,215
I had the same issue with the chat rooms this morning. My Flash was version 9.something. So I updated to Flash version 10.0.12.36 (which I see many of you already have) and after a reboot of my laptop I got in fine.

Not sure what is going on.
__________________
John, Joyce & Zoie the Terrier. - Fulltime since `08

2017 Solitude by Grand Design
2012 Ford F-450 Lariat
K-Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 09:27 AM   #7
Community Moderator
 
Petro's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Weyauwega, WI US
Posts: 5,787
UPDATE

I have 3 computers at home. All with XP, 2 with Flash Ver. 10, and 1 with Flash Ver. 9. Up until the upgrade I could get on the chat rooms with all 3. I have had a professional tech at $100.00 an hour going through my new HP. He has exhausted all of his knowledge and blamed the ISP which is Charter.net. I went down to my business computer which has Centurytel.Net as ISP. My business computer with Flash ver 9 can log on the chat rooms and my laptop on the same system with ver.10 can't log on a chat room. My tech now believes that there is a problem with the upgrade and Host Website.

Don
__________________
Don & Bev Morgan Weyauwega WI, 05 Itasca Horizon 40KD, 400 HP Cummins, Delorme GPS LT 40, Toad 07 Saturn Vue AWD, Air Force One, TST 510 TPMS, Mayor of Weyauwega 2007 - 2013, Waupaca Co Board Supervisor 2010 - 2014
Petro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 09:43 AM   #8
Administrator in Memoriam
 
Hitchhiker's Avatar


 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Buladean, NC
Posts: 8,127
Don,

I found this in the Admin forum, hope it'll help:
Quote:
Originally posted by Andy R:
Here is the response from the forum host (Groupee):

The chat issues could be a few things.

1) Are the users trying to connect through a firewall or from a location with IT security, such as work? Port 8080 needs to be open in order for chat to work, and often it is closed by default.

2) Are the users trying to access the chat room through a service with high latency, such as satellite? This can also affect chat performance.

If neither of these issues seem to be present, have the users write back with their operating systems and browser types. I've been able to get in today with IE7, Firefox, and Safari.

It should also be noted that there does seem to be a half-second of blue screen when I accessed the chat rooms. Therefore, it may be an issue of simply waiting for the chat room to populate.
__________________
'11 GMC Acadia SLT AWD
'11 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Extended Cab
Hitchhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 07:58 PM   #9
Community Moderator
 
Petro's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Weyauwega, WI US
Posts: 5,787
Well everyone I finally got both my computers to access the Chat Rooms. I am using Trend Micro AV and after temporarily disabling it on both computers I was able to get on Chat. I tried changing various settings but so far no changes I made would allow me to get on chat with it active. The problem in my case is Trend Micro AV. I have a professional network tech coming tomorrow to see if he can make it compatible.

Good luck to all with Chat problems;
Don
__________________
Don & Bev Morgan Weyauwega WI, 05 Itasca Horizon 40KD, 400 HP Cummins, Delorme GPS LT 40, Toad 07 Saturn Vue AWD, Air Force One, TST 510 TPMS, Mayor of Weyauwega 2007 - 2013, Waupaca Co Board Supervisor 2010 - 2014
Petro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 08:07 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
ruppr's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Boerne, TX. USA
Posts: 701
Interesting Don,
I also use Trend Micro AV, but I'm not going to disable (including firewall) to be able to get into a chat room.

Another interesting note, the chat icon has diappeared from the 'Go' icon. I now have to go to profile to find it. Once I click on it there, still get a blue screen, however the screen now has a little balloon with a yellow lightbulb near the top left corner.

Best,
__________________
Ruppr|Kris|2005 Itasca SunCruiser|Ultrapower
(toad) 2007 Ford Focus|Aventa LX|Brakebuddy
WIT|FMCA
ruppr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 07:26 AM   #11
Community Moderator
 
Petro's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Weyauwega, WI US
Posts: 5,787
Quote:
Originally posted by ruppr:
Interesting Don,
I also use Trend Micro AV, but I'm not going to disable (including firewall) to be able to get into a chat room.

Another interesting note, the chat icon has disappeared from the 'Go' icon. I now have to go to profile to find it. Once I click on it there, still get a blue screen, however the screen now has a little balloon with a yellow light bulb near the top left corner.

Best,
Bob;
My network tech worked 1.5 hours this morning trying to get Trend Micro to be compatible with the chat rooms. Nothing he could change made any difference. He has submitted a Case to Trend to try and resolve the issue. I will report any further solutions to the problem. I think it is a problem between Trend and the new software upgrade to IRV2.

Don
__________________
Don & Bev Morgan Weyauwega WI, 05 Itasca Horizon 40KD, 400 HP Cummins, Delorme GPS LT 40, Toad 07 Saturn Vue AWD, Air Force One, TST 510 TPMS, Mayor of Weyauwega 2007 - 2013, Waupaca Co Board Supervisor 2010 - 2014
Petro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 09:59 AM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
K-Star's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Fulltime - Currently somewhere in the lower 48
Posts: 2,215
Folks

I am not familiar with the various security programs y'all are using so I cannot tell you how to verify anything, but note the post Richard made earlier about opening port 8080. Port 8080 is a logical port on your firewall which is closed by default. Apparently this is the port that the chat rooms use thus it needs to be open on the firewall. I understand that it may have worked before the upgrade and not now but there has been a server change. While the URL may not have changed, the end point the URL resolves to has. I may very well be necessary to check and make sure that port is indeed open.

I would never suggest that anyone disable their firewall. But if you are disabling your firewall and able to get in suggests that the port is not open and the firewall is blocking communications to the chat rooms.

Don - I still see the Chat Rooms selection from the Go dropdown.
__________________
John, Joyce & Zoie the Terrier. - Fulltime since `08

2017 Solitude by Grand Design
2012 Ford F-450 Lariat
K-Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 10:11 AM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
RustyJC's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cypress, Texas USA
Posts: 8,854
Quote:
Originally posted by K-Star:
....but note the post Richard made earlier about opening port 8080. Port 8080 is a logical port on your firewall which is closed by default. Apparently this is the port that the chat rooms use thus it needs to be open on the firewall. I understand that it may have worked before the upgrade and not now but there has been a server change.
John,

I'm just a pore ole country boy from West Texas who don't know much about 'puters, but if a large segment of the user base can't get in because the upgraded software is trying to address port 8080 and port 8080 is closed by default, then maybe these ole boys who supply the chatroom software ought to be addressing a port that's open in most/all cases.

Just my uneducated 2 cents' worth.

Rusty
__________________
2016 Ram Longhorn 3500 Dually 4x4 CCLB, 385/900 Cummins, Aisin AS69RC, 4.10
2014.5 DRV Mobile Suites 38RSSA #6972
Come join us on a TEXAS BOOMERS rally!
RustyJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 10:30 AM   #14
Community Moderator
 
Petro's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Weyauwega, WI US
Posts: 5,787
Quote:
Originally posted by RustyJC:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by K-Star:
....but note the post Richard made earlier about opening port 8080. Port 8080 is a logical port on your firewall which is closed by default. Apparently this is the port that the chat rooms use thus it needs to be open on the firewall. I understand that it may have worked before the upgrade and not now but there has been a server change.
John,

I'm just a pore ole country boy from West Texas who don't know much about 'puters, but if a large segment of the user base can't get in because the upgraded software is trying to address port 8080 and port 8080 is closed by default, then maybe these ole boys who supply the chatroom software ought to be addressing a port that's open in most/all cases.

Just my uneducated 2 cents' worth.

Rusty </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Rusty;

My tech this morning opened port 8080 and it did not solve my proplem with Trend Micro. That being said all of our computers were working fine before the software DOWNGRADE.
__________________

__________________
Don & Bev Morgan Weyauwega WI, 05 Itasca Horizon 40KD, 400 HP Cummins, Delorme GPS LT 40, Toad 07 Saturn Vue AWD, Air Force One, TST 510 TPMS, Mayor of Weyauwega 2007 - 2013, Waupaca Co Board Supervisor 2010 - 2014
Petro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chat Room Barbara S. Solo RV'ers 62 10-03-2009 09:24 PM
Chat Room brad03ca Canada Region 6 10-23-2005 05:11 PM
Chat room Lynnvt Forum 101 | Announcements | Member Concerns 2 02-24-2005 05:32 AM
chat room Forum 101 | Announcements | Member Concerns 5 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.