Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Just Conversation
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2015, 06:58 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 596
Just the fridge would not be a problem.
__________________

__________________
marcham is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-24-2015, 07:07 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,990
If you pick up a standard sub panel and connect it with the proper cord you will have two 50 A 120 VAC legs that can be divided as desire. That will let you run a couple of 20 A branch circuits on each leg as well as giving you 240 VAC if you decide to upgrade the compressor or use anything else with more than a 1 HP motor.

I'm looking at Home despot and seeing a variety of panels for under $30. You can use a load center rated higher than the feed. I think you need to add an ungrounded common for the safety ground and keep that split from the neutral. Extra ground buss strips should be available. (I may have that backwards.) You have a main breaker on the post so you do not need another one in the sub panel.
__________________

__________________
nothermark is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 07:22 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,943
OK--your comment about needing to relook at a video you once seen about "a little green screw in a sub-panel" is a bit telling to me. Suggest you find someone locally that knows their way around electricity and have them supervise. A 50 amp plug is not something you want to "learn-on" ..IMHO
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 07:25 PM   #18
MPH
Senior Member
 
MPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Somewhere on the Rainbow. Fulltiming and lovin' it!
Posts: 2,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qwert66 View Post
Your case is different because you are fed from a breaker protecting the outlet you are plugged into. Probably 15 or 20 amp. If your fridge is the ONLY thing using the juice then no problem. If you are connected to a 20 amp breakered outlet AND using a small extension cord rated at 15 amps AND using more than 15 amps then there could be a problem.

The earlier post would be protected by a 50 amp breaker only and could push 50 amps thru a 15 amp necked cord which could cause problems and not be to code.

The difference is he would be plugged into a 50/100 amp line and you would be plugged into a 15/20 amp line.
Ok. That's good. Thanks for the reply.
__________________
MPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 10:21 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 596
Except he's probably connected to a 50A circuit with a 13A extension cord, as long as it's just the fridge and a few lights, not a problem.
__________________
marcham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 10:27 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,535
Quote:
Originally Posted by garbonz View Post
Yep, that's the solution. Please note that the 50Amp RV plug at the house is still a 220 volt plug, it is at the RV end that it becomes two 110v legs. So if you don't use pre-wired adapter to your shed that will only run off one leg, then make sure you keep this in mind when wiring up your sub-panel or your duplex outlet(s).
Unless it's like our and some other higher end rigs. We have a 240 volt dryer but it's the only 240 volt thing in the rig.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 02:16 AM   #21
Junior Member
 
steelbreezzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: monahans tx
Posts: 13
Thanks for all the input. I wanted to do as much as possible myself and then have a electrition double check everything before I threw the switch. Living and working in the oil fields,everything is expensive.We all do not make the Big Rig money.
__________________
SEMPER FI MAC
steelbreezzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 07:32 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,943
The issue here [IMHO] is the 50 amp breaker. If you said you were going to down size the breaker to match the 15 amp "extension cord," that would be fine. If you dont match the transmitting wire to the breaker, you are setting yourself up for a dangerous situation--for you and for others. Doesnt matter that you only intend to run a fridge--a 50 or 100 ft, 15 amp cord on a 50 amp breaker could get someone hurt.....
__________________

__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
20 amp Stay-in-play fuse keeps blowing Donut lover Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 11 03-19-2015 07:00 AM
Dutch Star Gas Cooktop Hidden Fuse Dutch Star Don Newmar Owner's Forum 2 03-10-2015 07:16 PM
Norcold 1200 W/ Amish CU Intermittent Fuse Blow ProjectPro RV Systems & Appliances 1 03-02-2015 05:41 PM
Fuse for roof lights ?? caheath Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 3 02-21-2015 09:30 PM
I found the fuse harleychief Newmar Owner's Forum 6 05-14-2014 11:18 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.