Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Just Conversation
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2012, 01:53 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Rodneykrantz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: West Columbia SC
Posts: 808
Automatic Transfer Switch Question

Automatic Transfer switch
Why not just put a female plug in place of the Automatic Transfer switch and plug into it when not hooked to shore power just wondering
__________________

__________________
Rodneykrantz is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-30-2012, 02:01 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
I could be mistaken, but I think that's how many older RVs operated. I think the "automatic" function added convenience but also complexity.

Rick
__________________

__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 02:10 PM   #3
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodneykrantz View Post
Automatic Transfer switch
Why not just put a female plug in place of the Automatic Transfer switch and plug into it when not hooked to shore power just wondering
You can do just that. In fact like Rick said the manual way was the accepted way to get 'er done for years and still is on some RV's. The ATS has become more prevalent because we're getting lazier
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickO View Post
I could be mistaken, but I think that's how many older RVs operated. I think the "automatic" function added convenience but also complexity.

Rick
You are not mistaken,, I call that a "Poor man's transfer switch" by the way

Actually it is a very good and workable alternative to the modern "Automatic" switch

Page 2:

IF you go this route, and you also park your Generator equipped RV at your house, put in a good GENERATOR TRANSFER panel on the house, complete with inlet and make up a cord that adapts from the RV to the HOUSe and is long enough to make the trip (plus 5 feet for safety)

Switch: Expensive
Installation: likewise
Heavy duty flexable cord: Yet again

Warm happy wife: Priceless
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:55 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
baraff's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,416
My Winnebago Aspect has the "poor man's transfer switch". I wouldn't have it any other way, one less thing to worry about.
__________________
Burns & Diane
2005 Winnebago Aspect 26A/2012 Subaru Impreza toad
Illinois! - Where the politicians make the license plates......
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
baraff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:58 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by baraff View Post
My Winnebago Aspect has the "poor man's transfer switch". I wouldn't have it any other way, one less thing to worry about.
No kidding. The "automatic" switch still requires that care be taken when changing power sources and I've often thought that a manual connection would be better when all things are considered.

rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 06:02 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,115
Rodney,

My '92 and my '99 were exactly like that, as most older RVs. There's enough ATS failures on here that makes me glad I don't have one. I don't understand the convienience though. You have to go to the elec bay to plug into shore and to put the cord back anyway, so what's the big deal to plug it in.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 07:25 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Rodneykrantz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: West Columbia SC
Posts: 808
I was just wondering if there was a technical reason for it I was thinking about the previous post about using the generator for the house if I lose power it would be easy if it was a plug
__________________
Rodneykrantz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 06:58 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
baraff's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,416
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodneykrantz View Post
I was just wondering if there was a technical reason for it I was thinking about the previous post about using the generator for the house if I lose power it would be easy if it was a plug
Rodney, we did exactly that last summer when we had no power for 40+ hours. Brought the MH home and ran a heavy duty extension cord through a window in the house to power the fridge and the fish tanks. On the MH I plugged the extension cord in to the outlet by the outside stereo. It ran non-stop for 30+ hours and saved the day. It would not have made any difference if it were a transfer switch or RV plug, I was not "backfeeding" the house circuit, just running extension cords. All we wanted to do was save our fishies and the food in the fridge and have some light.
__________________
Burns & Diane
2005 Winnebago Aspect 26A/2012 Subaru Impreza toad
Illinois! - Where the politicians make the license plates......
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
baraff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 10:28 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
I put an automatic transfer switch in my 5er so I wouldn't have to go out in the rain and switch the plug if I wanted to run my Honda 2000 generator instead of my onboard propane eating Generac.
__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 07:31 PM   #11
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunner View Post
I put an automatic transfer switch in my 5er so I wouldn't have to go out in the rain and switch the plug if I wanted to run my Honda 2000 generator instead of my onboard propane eating Generac.
Can you start the Honda from inside too??
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 07:39 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
If it's raining, the Honda is in my 20' enclosed and if I ran it, it would be with the doors open and an exhaust fan running.
__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:54 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Not really sure BUT I think an ATS failure did $2500 dollars worth of damage to my generator. I got rid of the $50 ATS and wired the generator to a reqeptacle in the electrical bay, at a campground, unplug from the generator and plug into the camprground service. Headed back on the road, unpug the shore line and as I store it in the MH electric bay I plug it into the generator. FOOLPROOF.
Sold that old 93 and just picked up a 2008 with only 9000 miles on it.
Came on here and googled ATS swithes, wow, I thought I was the only one to have experienced a problem like that.

Next order of business is to remove the ATS and wire the new modern MH as per the old fashioned ones, and sleep well at night

STEVE
__________________
2008 Siesta
Windsor Ontario
srama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:33 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: LAS CRUCES, NM
Posts: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to lamigra
"Illinois! - Where the politicians make the license plates......"

YEE HA! I'VE BEEN SAYING THIS FOR YEARS!
__________________

__________________
lamigra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.