Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Just Conversation
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 11-25-2014, 07:32 AM   #1
Idea for useful website for RV folks?

I'm back again with another idea... last time I posted here I got a lot of useful feedback that kept me from "selling the house and investing in a useless invention."

So, I'm back here again with another idea... just to see if it has any merit.

I try to keep my eyes open for those moments when something is really frustrating and I wish there was an easier way...

This idea it is for a website - that could also end up being an app for your phone. (I'm a web developer / programmer so the cost to build this would be time only).

Here is the real world scenario...

We are planning our first cross country trip by RV to see family. I'm calling and making all my reservations at various campgrounds. The majority of these sites do not have online reservation systems. So, I must call and give all my info over the phone.

Long story short... the ONLY part of my information that I don't have to SPELL OUT is my first name (Robert). Everything else I have to spell 4-5 times because there are various S (did you say F?) and T (did you say C?) in my name and address.

The entire time I'm on the phone I'm thinking - jeez - I wish I could just push a card through the phone with ALL my contact info on it and say THIS IS ME. Quick and easy - they could just SEE and READ all my info with no frustration.

Okay - so, how am I going to do that?

Facebook? no... they would need a facebook login.
LinkedIn? no... same thing

Matter of fact, just about all these social sites would either require them to be a member and "friend me" or I would need to post my contact info totally public for all to see...