Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Just Conversation
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 12-12-2013, 09:41 PM   #1

I'm not a HVAC professional

Would I really save money lowering my thermostat and why???

Let's say I leave home and head for Florida in February and set my thermostat at 60 degrees. If the temperature outside remains below 55 degrees, does it matter if I had set my thermostat at 70 degrees instead of 60 degrees?

Here's the scary logic. Seems to me that when it's set at 70 the furnace will come on at around 68 and will shut off at 70 or 71. If it's set at 60 degrees, the furnace will come on at around 58 and shut off at 60 or 61. Seems to me that the furnace is heating 2 or 3 degrees of heat in each of these scenarios.

Shoot me down if you must.

2011 Coachmen SportsCoach
Living Our Dream One Mile at a Time
Steve & Mary Ann (RVM5 & 5A)
Papawto5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-12-2013, 10:19 PM   #2