Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Just Conversation
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2011, 09:44 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Dmiles's Avatar
 
Appalachian Campers
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 473
Ours works well, it's cheap and my wife sent one to here family in the Philippines, and now they have a US phone number pretty neat.

But, as has been stated, you do need a good broadband connection for it to work well.
__________________

__________________
2011 Winnebago Vista 30W
Duane, Precy, 9 year old son Matt, and Abby, our American Eskimo.
Dmiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-28-2011, 10:13 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
nalcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 114
I have MJ and it works like advertised. The only downside for me is long distance for local residences. My number is for a city 100 miles away. MJ states new numbers are coming but none yet. I use it for outgoing long distance.
__________________

__________________
Charlie & Sherrie
Southeast Texas
'99 Southwind Storm, '10 Honda CRV
nalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 10:27 PM   #17
Registered User


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,198
My canadian buddy had a magic jack. It worked pretrty well. He had a USA number, and either of us could call the other for free. I thought it was an ideal solution, but he being canadian was too cheap to buy another after it died when it was 3 years old.
__________________
JimM68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 04:13 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Pogo's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Florida Cooters Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: DeLand, Fl
Posts: 282
We have had MJ for a couple of years at home. It works very well about 97% of the time. But, once in a while, the connection is not great. I guess it depends on the internet service. The computer has to be left on all the time. I wonder how much the electric costs to do that.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, skydiving is not for you.
Pogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 12:07 PM   #19
Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 79
One thing with MJ is that you HAVE to have electricity to use it. Power goes out, you can't even call the power company to tell them, so you would still need a cell or a hard line phone.
__________________
phxmtngirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 01:29 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Monacoach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,665
Quote:
One thing with MJ is that you HAVE to have electricity to use it. Power goes out, you can't even call the power company to tell them, so you would still need a cell or a hard line phone.
I used magic jack with my laptop and of course it has a battery so I did not have to worry about losing power.
__________________
2008 Holiday Rambler Vacationer 340 Cummins
Monacoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 01:39 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
WheelingIt's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: On Wheels
Posts: 1,983
OK, I'm going to be a bit of a naysayer and bring up the other side of the coin. We bought the MJ one year ago planning to use it on the road and have found it practically useless. From my point of view it's only handy if:

a) you have a good, strong connection
and
b) you are able to leave your computer on all the time

We often have neither. We do alot of dry-camping and it simply doesn't work for us to keep the computer on all the time (so, using it to recieve incoming calls is useless). Also, our WiFi varies a bit in strength. The strength really needs to be GOOD...we tried it several times on park WiFi (in the West) and it was close to unusable. On our aircard the strength again depends (and loads our computer usage...using both 3G and the MJ is often too choppy).

So for us, MJ was a total no-go.
__________________
12 paws, 40 feet and the open road
WheelingIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 03:47 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
JSPERRELLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: In Red Bay headed to Spring, TX
Posts: 173
We use MJ at home and it works well. But did find that at least one phone exchange you can not call as it is not in their service area. I believe it was a US government park service. You can forward your MJ calls to email or your cellphone even if it is not hooked up.
__________________
JSPERRELLA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 09:17 PM   #23
Moderator Emeritus
 
K-Star's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Fulltime - Currently somewhere in the lower 48
Posts: 2,215
I've been using MJ for about 1.5 years. It is not so much the signal strength as much as it is the speed that is needed. MJ says you need at least 200K upload speed for it to work. At 200K, I find it to be very choppy. At 400K or better it works pretty well. On thing to do is right click on the COMPUTER ICON then PROPERTIES on your desktop. Click on the ADVANCED tab and pick PERFORMANCE SETTINGS button. The next screen has a series of tabs and once again select the ADVANCED tab. Then under Processor Scheduling click the Radio Button for BACKGROUND SERVICES (default is PROGRAMS). That will give priority to the MJ over data packets or programs when conflicts occur. If you are using a router, you may also need to set the MJ to have priority over data there too. When in the router remember that MJ uses ports 1070 and 1080 then UDP as well as TCP Protocol.

Additionally, I did find out that it does not work on a computer where you need to connect to a VPN. VPN's and MJ don't play well together.
__________________
John, Joyce & Zoie the Terrier. - Fulltime since `08

2017 Solitude by Grand Design
2012 Ford F-450 Lariat
K-Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 09:38 PM   #24
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Big Bear Ca.(Sugarloaf)
Posts: 1,223
I have been told they don't work well with Hughesnet satalite network. I know Skype doesn't. To much delay.
__________________
Mark & Carole
What a long strange trip it's been.

No longer RVing. Happy Trails to you.
Campingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 10:05 PM   #25
edj
Senior Member
 
edj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by K-Star View Post
I've been using MJ for about 1.5 years. It is not so much the signal strength as much as it is the speed that is needed. MJ says you need at least 200K upload speed for it to work. At 200K, I find it to be very choppy. At 400K or better it works pretty well. On thing to do is right click on the COMPUTER ICON then PROPERTIES on your desktop. Click on the ADVANCED tab and pick PERFORMANCE SETTINGS button. The next screen has a series of tabs and once again select the ADVANCED tab. Then under Processor Scheduling click the Radio Button for BACKGROUND SERVICES (default is PROGRAMS). That will give priority to the MJ over data packets or programs when conflicts occur. If you are using a router, you may also need to set the MJ to have priority over data there too. When in the router remember that MJ uses ports 1070 and 1080 then UDP as well as TCP Protocol.

Additionally, I did find out that it does not work on a computer where you need to connect to a VPN. VPN's and MJ don't play well together.
Thanks... I did not know about the 'Processor Scheduling'. I changed mine to 'Backround Services' and I will see what difference it makes with my Magic Jack.
__________________

__________________
Ed J - Summer->Vestal, NY Winter->Melbourne, FL
1999 Dodge 2500 diesel, 6-spd manual
2007 HitchHiker Discover America 329RSB
edj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VA System is BROKE ChiefJohn Military / Veteran RVing 5 03-26-2010 05:11 PM
Atwood Levelegs Electric Jack System Failed - UPDATE GerryB54 Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 18 06-25-2009 09:26 AM
Alarm system with cell phone dialer BEETHOVIN5N9 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 4 05-21-2009 02:58 PM
HWH jack question CMcCardell Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 51 05-20-2009 10:12 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.