Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 07-02-2009, 12:59 AM   #1

1979 Dodge Vogue Revival - Motorhome Checklist

Hello to all, i just revived a 1979 Dodge Vogue motorcoach, and would like to share my problems and solutions with you.

Maybe this might be helpful to owners of newer motorcoaches as well.

Please be aware that i am not a professional, and on top of that human, so my solutions might be less than perfect or downright stupid.

List of things to do when you check a motorhome which is older than one year:
  • interior sniff: is it smelly?
  • interior looks: any visible stains/signs of humidity? (floor, walls, ceiling), especially corners, kitchen, bathroom - open all compartments, check under carpet
  • outside: take out a couple of screws from exposed areas (windows awnings, roof corners, ...) and check for rust - if there is rust, take out more screws to pinpoint the source - expect serious water damage. Especially fishy are screws used to mount (after sale) accessories (roof ladder, bike carriers, handles, etc.)
  • use a moisture measuring device: check the whole interior (floor, walls, ceiling), write the result on a post-it and stick it to the point where you measured. This should be done every 40 inch, covering the whole interior. If all results are the same (and low) - good. If the numbers are uneven and rise close to critical areas - keep measuring until you pinpoint the leak.
  • If you identified a leak, open the area around it (inside and outside - especially below it), and check for water damage. Be aware that water can travel long distances undetected and might leak out far from the point it came in.
  • donīt be shy to rip out all suspicious material - do it nice or do it twice is my rule for these things.