Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 07-24-2016, 07:47 PM   #1

1984 454 stalling

Hi all names Buzz. I'm new to motor home traveling. I bought a 1984 Itasca with a chev 454 motor I've made some small trips 30 miles to camp with no problems I live in the Pismo Beach area, last week went to Fresno about half way and just died. sat awhile took loose full filter put back and restarted next stop died again so I put a new filter on thinking junk in the filter drove some more just as I got in town died again So put clear filter on to see if junk in line guess what no junk. It was very hot could it be vapor lock carburetor it would not start at one point so used starter fluid started away I went died one more time going up hill used fluid again but took awhile any thoughts. thanks.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-25-2016, 06:43 AM   #2

Your P-30 chassis has a second fuel filter. Hidden along the passenger side frame rail about halfway between the gas tank and engine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzzn View Post