Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2010, 05:07 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 2,268
1985 onan 4000

took rv out onan ran a little rough so when i got home i changed points (pitted bad) plugs air filter then adjusted carb to book runs properly with ac but if you turn on microwave also it runs rough and emits black smoke.
as i recall from old post people ran seafoam in a gas can and it helped so if i run a 2 gal. gas can how much sea foam
dave
__________________

__________________
whem2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-02-2010, 09:06 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: La Quinta California
Posts: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by whem2fish View Post
took rv out onan ran a little rough so when i got home i changed points (pitted bad) plugs air filter then adjusted carb to book runs properly with ac but if you turn on microwave also it runs rough and emits black smoke.
as i recall from old post people ran seafoam in a gas can and it helped so if i run a 2 gal. gas can how much sea foam
dave
Dave, I've run 1/4 to 1/2 can of Sea foam in a 2 gallon tank with good results....
A good load (Air conditioner) will also hand you the GPH used....

Jim
__________________

__________________
JimElliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 11:44 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 2,268
thanks jim you might recall going from ft worth to coast spring break i got just over 8 mpg pulling 4 door truck (not running gen) but coming back i was way below 4 (running gen so kids could play games) anyway a trip this weekend less tha 60 miles probally burned 20 gal. or more
thanks again ill get back tomorrow with results
dave
__________________
whem2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 11:49 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: La Quinta California
Posts: 523
Dave, Thats a huge drop in mileage....
If memory serves me right my 87 with the 4K genny used about 3/4 gallon per hour under a MAX load...

Jim
__________________
JimElliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 01:12 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 2,268
that about right im thinking carb if need be ill rebuild
dave
__________________
whem2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 06:27 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 2,268
update i got $3.00 of gas 1.2 gal put in 1/4 can seafoam after about 1/4 gal gen would not run anymore im thinking oh no i took air filter off it ran fine then adjusted air mixture ran fine then when gas was almost gone poured the rest of the can in carb shut motor down conected gas line to the main tank waited 10 min. started it up boy it blew black crud all over started ac then microwave it never ran this good next will be buying 4 cans for main tank. it took 45 min. to burn 1.2 gal so i feel its ok
thanks jim if you didnt live so far id stop by to but you a beer
dave
__________________
whem2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 08:57 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: La Quinta California
Posts: 523
Dave, How many gallons does your main tank hold?

Jim
__________________
JimElliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 09:22 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 2,268
i have never ran it empty around 1/4 it will hold over 80 gal
dave
__________________
whem2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 09:50 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: La Quinta California
Posts: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by whem2fish View Post
i have never ran it empty around 1/4 it will hold over 80 gal
dave
Dave, My new tank holds 82 measured gallons and since I'm getting very lazy I pour in 4 cans of Sea foam about every 4th or 5th tank...
Dang stuff is getting expensive out here and cannot find anyone that sells it by the gallon
"Berryman B-12" is now super cheap (under $3.00 a can) and works just as good so I'll swap over on the next fill up...
The genny carb will take some time to clean up I feel so maybe another good shot of "Berryman" through your 1 gallon can may be needed, I've brought my RV home (3 miles) when the fuel pump died by pouring straight Berryman down the carb tube (Rochestor) and filling up the carb bowl as I drove down the road
Keep in touch please and hope the genny gets cleaned up and running right and the fuel consumption drops to and around 3/4 gallon per hour...

Jim
__________________
JimElliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 10:51 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 2,268
sea foam was $7.00 im going to look at it more today it was 105 yesterday i was lucky i was under the awning ill let you know
dave
__________________
whem2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 04:38 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 2,268
ok finaly got it right was the govener thanks jim
dave
__________________
whem2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 11:36 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: La Quinta California
Posts: 523
[QUOTE=whem2fish;681958]ok finaly got it right was the govener thanks jim
dave[/QUOTE}

I set my genny to the cycles (61) and with NO LOAD the voltage lurks around 124V.
With big loads the voltage drops to around 115V and the cycles drop also (59) or so....

Jim
__________________
JimElliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 02:08 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 2,268
spring break was when it started acting up no load wea 127 v. loades 109.
now no load 122 v. load 119v the test will be the coast hopefully next week
dave
__________________

__________________
whem2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Onan MicroQuiet 4000 generator questions JC Andrews RV Systems & Appliances 10 06-17-2013 07:56 PM
Removing carburator off a 4000 onan anypaws MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 06-09-2010 10:30 PM
Found it-- now what? 4000 Onan generator Izzyblueye MH-General Discussions & Problems 1 03-18-2010 12:44 PM
Onan Microlite 4000 spark plug removal JLPingree Class C Motorhome Discussions 2 09-21-2009 07:03 AM
Onan 4000 circuit breaker bad? Jerry J Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 05-02-2008 07:22 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.