Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2012, 05:00 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 3
2 ACs in '89 HR Imperial - Only 1 runs on shore

Is this correct? Both will run when the generator is running, but only 1 runs off shore.
__________________

__________________
alliemosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-17-2012, 05:12 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
wildtoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,927
Most likely. I had a '94 Airstream Land Yacht mh with a 7500 watt gen but only 30 amp service. It would run both on the gen but only one at a time when plugged in. There was a switch that dictated which unit was active. Quite common on units with just 30 amp service.
__________________

__________________
Tom Wilds
Blythewood SC
2016 Newmar Bay Star Sport 3004
2013 Chevy Sonic Hatchback (Automatic)
wildtoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 05:47 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Your coach is wired for 30 amp service and generally this will only support one A/C at a time. The generator has a 30 amp circuit and an additional 20 or 30 amp circuit dedicated to the second A/C.

You can rewire the coach for 20 amp service or bring the rear A/c out on a separate 20 amp circuit.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 06:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Senior Chief's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Somewhere in the woods in Belfair, WA, WA
Posts: 1,250
Ditto what the TXiceman says.

Its a worthwhile modification to rewire the rear AC to run on its own 30 amp circuit/power cord. This way you can plug the main power cord and rear AC power cord into a dual-30amp-to single-50 amp plug, and use both ACs when you have a 50 amp hook-up available.
__________________
Life rocks when your house rolls
Senior Chief
& the Cheese Queen


Senior Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 06:06 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
Yes, this is very common for a 30amp coach. The rear AC is wired directly to the 20amp circuit on the generator and why you can run both on the generator.

Some 30amp coaches (like mine) has an EMS system which allows you to run both both ACs on shore, but you can't be running much else.

There are ways to rewire your coach so you can run both ACs on shore, it's realitively cheap if you can do it yourself, I can't give you specifics, but many on here can.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 08:59 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 3
Cool, thanks y'all! I will have DH add to list!
__________________
alliemosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 10:05 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
QuietWater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West Central MO
Posts: 328
Here's a link to a different forum that shows a step by step method of achieving that very objective.
RV.Net Open Roads Forum: How to run two AC's with 30 Amp Service UPDATE UPDATE
__________________
1984 Holiday Rambler Imperial
QuietWater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 06:48 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuietWater View Post
Here's a link to a different forum that shows a step by step method of achieving that very objective.
RV.Net Open Roads Forum: How to run two AC's with 30 Amp Service UPDATE UPDATE
Thanks, so much! I know we're going to need both ac's come summer, it's already high 80's!

What have you done to keep the motor from running hot?
__________________
alliemosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 03:11 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 23
Yes!O0n this model motor home ,you have a thirty amp shore cord.Thirty amps will not run two air condioners plus the other items that are electrically operated.Your 6.5 kw gen set will.To find your amp draw,divide your totle wattage by 120. Amps times volts equel watts.This tells you that your gen set is putting out 54 amps but your shore power is only 30 amps.
__________________
red raby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 10:30 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 421
My previous coach had 30 amp service and would only run one A/C at a time on shore power. I think this is a common situation for most RVs. It would run both A/C units when on generator service if you turned the selector switch to rear A/C.
__________________

__________________
Poptop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.