Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2014, 02:36 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
gruelens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonKarstedt View Post
New guy here...

Your discussion raises two questions for me:

I have a 30 amp RV. How likely is it that I will come across a park hookup that has ONLY 50amp service? I'm wondering if it's necessary to carry a 50amp-->30amp adapter.

Also, there was a mention of a power management system. Are you talking about a surge suppressor, or something more elaborate with power conditioning? What device would you recommend for basic system protection?

--DonK
It costs little to have adapters so you can utilize, 15, 30 and 50 amp outlets. I am at a 50 amp only outlet now.

I would recommend the Progressive Industries power protection equipment. Use the search window for lots more info on this.
__________________

__________________
George R. - Fulltiming since January '03
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 3991
2012 Chevy Malibu LT1
gruelens is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-07-2014, 06:21 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
n5pht's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 412
Blog Entries: 1
Hi Don,

My my experience (about 65 parks so far) I have not seen 50 amp only. HOWEVER, I suggest you get a quality 50 to 30 convertor and carry it always. Just last week (and that was not the first time) the power pole at a Texas State Park had 50 and 30 but the 30 amp was not working. I suspect the breaker needing replacing. So I plugged into the 50 and used my convertor and all was fine. This need has happened with me a few times.

I use a surge protector at the pole and it will check (takes 180 seconds) that all is ok before allowing power to pass to the RV. If the voltage drops too much or raises too much it will also shut down power to the RV. Well worth the money in my view - about $300.
__________________

__________________
Gary and Karen Stone - stick home in Texas
LCMS Church - 2014 Minnie Winnie 31KP, 2014 Jeep Gary is N5PHT, Ham Op, Retired from Fed Gov
n5pht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 07:41 AM   #17
Member
 
DonKarstedt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 76
Wow, two answers already, and in perfect agreement. I know what to do!

Thank you both.

--Don K
__________________
DonKarstedt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 08:41 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,820
Simple answer: With a 30 amp RV you are limited to 30 amps. YOU Can use a dogbone adapter and plug into the 50 amp outlet which may be necessary if the 30 amp outlet is defective,, but you are still limited to 30 amps. since that is all your RV can use safely..

HOWEVER...

You can snag an additional 12-20 amps.... Here is how....

Find the wire that comes off your main breaker panel to the Air Conditioner.. Disconnect it and remove it from the breaker box. if necessary use a junction box and additional wire to bring it to an area that is accessable from the OUTSIDE of your RV.

Install an INLET (This is a plug that is mounted in a box) at this point

Run a 2nd line from teh breaker to a pigtail with OUTLET,, SEE NOTE BELOW.

Get a device I'll try to link to (Below) I call a "Splitter" or Y connector. it splits 50 amp into two 30 amp outlets.. And you will need one more adapter to do it right but we can get around that easily enough. (Actually I'll tell you how to bulid it)

Plug most of RV into one 30 amp "leg" plug Air Conditioenr via the next paragraph into the other.

Building the adapter; You need a small box with a 15/20 amp DUPLEX outlet a 20 amp breaker or 120 volt fuse (I recommend breaker, a PUSH TO RESET kind is ok) and a short 30 amp male pigtaile

30 amp black wire to breaker, 12ga short lead from other breaker terminal to the copper screw on outlet, white wire to slivery screw on outlet, green to green.

Now using a 12 ga Extension cord.. I like to replace teh ends with 20 amp plugs and sockets (The blades are not parallel) use that to connect the the adapter you just made to the INLET for the A/C. Inlet can have any type of 20 amp conector either the perpendular blades or a twist lock.

the 30+30 to 50 adapter you need, DO NOT CONFUSE THIS WITH CHEATER BOXES which have two 30 amp plugs and do not work.

Amazon.com : Conntek RV Y Adatper Cord with 50 Amp Male Plug To (2) 30 Amp RV Female Connector (3-Feet) : Boating Shore Power Cords : Sports & Outdoors

Oh, alternate 20 amp adapter option.. Cut 30 amp end off the above adapter (one) and wire it direct to the box with the breaker and outlet.. NOTE: I do not recommend this cause some day you may need to switch legs due to outlet wear.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 10:13 AM   #19
Member
 
DonKarstedt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 76
That sounds like a fun project--right up my alley. Thanks for the detail.

I'm a little surprised to hear that 30 Amps might be inadequate fir general use. It's it common to overload a 30 amp breaker if you only have one AC?

--DonK
__________________
DonKarstedt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 10:51 AM   #20
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonKarstedt View Post
I have a 30 amp RV. How likely is it that I will come across a park hookup that has ONLY 50amp service?
--DonK
DonK
In my experience... not likely, (and maybe never).
I carry a 50amp-->30amp dog-bone adapter, (which I have never needed)!
In 250k+ miles, (over 30 years), of RV travel, I've found 50A/30A/20A campground pedestal receptacles, 30A/20A pedestals, (and sometimes only a 20A receptacle)....but NEVER only a 50A.
Mel
'96 Safrai, 132k miles
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 09:43 PM   #21
Member
 
DonKarstedt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 76
Thanks Mel, I don't have any experience yet, but what you just said is really what I was expecting.

--DonK
__________________
DonKarstedt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 07:21 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,938
Lots of good ideas here on upgrading/managing your 30 amp service. Lots of miles behind me now but it took awhile as a newbie to understand all the ins/outs of RVing. A 50 amp only park is unusual in my experience--more likely to find underpowered 30s or even 20s. Key here is that 30 amp is on one leg so thats all you have to work with while 50 amp is on two legs, so 100 amps total--over 3 times the amps.
Typical A/C can draw 20 amps to start and 12-15 to run. Depending on what you have, water heater and bat charger can pull 15 or more amps; add in a micrco wave or momma's hair dryer and you can quickly overwhelm 30 amps. Other than surge and quality voltage protection, you dont need fancy equip to manage your amps. Keep a good volt wall display meter [$15--Camping World] plugged in to monitor voltage, then manage what you have plugged in manually---good luck.
PS--a 50 to 30 dogbone can work but remember -- if you are plugged into 50 amps you are bringing 50 amps on one leg to you unit, probably on the std 30 amp cord you are using. Your 30 amp distro box will keep you from pulling more than your cord can handle but if you modify your service to pull more amps, your old 30 amp cord wont handle it.
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 09:58 AM   #23
Member
 
DonKarstedt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 76
My new rig has been sitting in my driveway for just a few days while we get it set up. I've got it hooked up to an extension cord connected to a 20 amp circuit from the garage.. I've been running everything available while showing it off to the neighbors--no blown breaker.

I think I won't sweat over the amperage being adequate at 30 amps. Now it's just a question of keeping things protected. A portable surge protector/manager seems most convenient, but vulnerable. Has anyone ACTUALLY had one stolen? I know everyone worries about it, and there is lots of talk about securing them, but do they ever REALLY get stolen?

--DonK
__________________
DonKarstedt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 10:16 AM   #24
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
On my travels throughout the NA Continent I have stayed in only one RV Resort that was 50 amp only. For the rigs that come in with 30 amp, they loan out an 50 to 30 amp adapter. You turn it in when you leave.

This resort is called Beverly Beach Camptown RV Resort in Flagler Beach Florida. One of the premier ocean-side resorts on the Atlantic side.

I have stayed there a few times and it's great.

Where I am currently volunteering the pedestal is 50 amp only but this is not a campground or RV Park. There is ONLY one pedestal.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 10:17 AM   #25
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonKarstedt View Post
Also, there was a mention of a power management system. Are you talking about a surge suppressor, or something more elaborate with power conditioning?
--DonK

Energy management is not a surge suppressor.

Check out this article for a good explanation
http://www.toyhauleradventures.com/2...telligent-ems/

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1402240583.088758.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	638.9 KB
ID:	64893
__________________
pasdad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 03:51 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert331983 View Post
Can all three outlets be used at a site at the same time the 50,30,20. or is there a max for the whole pole.
Well, the answer sadly is YES, (I know that does not help)

In most parks you can indeed use all 3 at one time and I know folks who do it.. But you may run up against a park where that is not possible.. I do, 2x a year.


As to Ham Radio operators: My 100 Watt Kenwood TS-2000 is fed off the house fuse panel a few feet away.. It runs on DC, not AC.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50A Coach to 30A Electrical Service jlabit Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 03-12-2014 08:49 PM
30A or 50A to garage mothgrey Class A Motorhome Discussions 31 11-21-2013 05:14 PM
30A to 50A Adapter Causes MH Fire Pusherman Class A Motorhome Discussions 173 09-02-2013 05:33 PM
Genset 20a and 30a breakers '04 Southwind Agility57 RV Systems & Appliances 48 07-25-2013 08:27 AM
Bounder: 30A to 50A converting Sonnydale Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 20 06-11-2013 10:08 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.