Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 07-08-2007, 04:59 AM   #1

I am no master mechanic but have rebuilt a few engines in my lifetime. My neighbor is a race car builder. So when my 84 454 P30 Itasca overheated and cracked a piston (discovered after driving it home after a slight "ping" developed and pulling the heads to check it out), I decided to rebuild the engine myself and with his assistance here in my driveway. A year later we had it running and sounding better than ever. However, it seems to have lost about 30% of its power when climbing.

During the rebuild, my friend/neighbor convinced me to add a "RV cam" We added a Crane PowerMax Cam and Lifter Kits
Cam and Lifters, Hydraulic Flat Tappet, Advertised Duration 260/ 272, Lift .484/ .515, Chevy, Big Block, Kit. This cam was suggested by the Crane tech support group from my supplying all my engine and drive train info. They said no distributor alteration would be necessary.

However, now when I head to Colorado the beast will barely make it up Rotan Pass. I had to turn around when I attempted Monarch (6% grade). When I last started up Monarch, it started skipping badly which got so bad 3/4 the way up, I had to turn around.

Back when I first bought this "slightly used vehicle" (fat dumb and happy with it unknown to be falling apart behind the hood with bad lines, a gas tank full of rust and a clogged radiator), yes back then it had no trouble climbing Slumgullion Pass (9% grade). (If I only knew then what I know now about what shape that old buggy was in, I would have never even tried that pass!!!)