Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 02-23-2013, 02:23 PM   #1

85' Holiday Rambler Fuel Problems

Hello all! Noob here!
Recently purchased a 1985 Holiday Rambler, Chevy 454, tag axle and rides good. Installed new cap, rotor, wires, fuel and oil filters. At week 2 carb (#1411-750cfm) flooded out on way home. Installed new richer carb (Edelbrock carb #1413-800 cfm). Ran fine on the way home (down hill). On the way to work next day (up hill) backfired through carb, right side exhaust red hot (some say running lean). On the way home new carb flooded out. Installed simple fuel pressure regulator. Set it to 2 psi, ran for a few seconds and starved out. Set it to 2.5 ran for a few seconds then fuel started pouring into carb and flooded out. No manual pump. Do not understand, electric pump on rail close to tank says 5.5-9 psi. Edelbrock says 6.5 is max and according to my inexpensive fuel pressure reg, 2.5 psi floods it out. Sitting on side of road 15 miles from home. Was not covered by AAA. Close enough to that I am able to work on it. But time and money running out. Fortunately not wifes patience What should I do next? Do I hunt better reg or is the electric pump freaking out? Any help greatly appreciated.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!