Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-06-2008, 03:34 PM   #1

Ok, so I traded our beautiful 95 5th for this 88 Bounder class A. The owner's said everything was working fine and demonstrated it all, so I trusted them. Mistake. This thing is a mess. It was so well taken care of on the interior, but it's giving us nothing put problems. I do like it though, it has a lot of personality so we want to keep working on it until we can enjoy it.

I'm new to motor part. It's a 454 chevy, it has a choke start. We've been having problems with starts since we got it. Some days it just does not want to start right, but we can usually get it to run. Yesterday it started right up when I pulled out the choke and turned the key. It runs really rough at first, and I have to keep the choke open for quite some time and I have to keep pressing on the gas or it will stall out.., it does this for 5-15 minutes. After I drive it for someone it seems to run fine, no stalling in traffic or anything. So I figured it was just part of it's older personality.

Yesterday it started just as described above; but this morning it started up, but stalled out after about 1.5 minutes, even when I pressed the gas. I tried to start it again to no avail. It cranks and cranks and sputters and comes oh so close that you just know it's going to start at any moment, but it's just teasing.

About 5 minutes later it did start, but I had to really keep on the gas and then it stalled out again.., even while pressing on the gas.

Then, it would not start.