Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2013, 07:12 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
CasadeFlores's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
91 winnebago chieftain

So im going to ask a dumb question but I need help with a curious thing. So I was wondering why I don't have power at my outlets at the house but when I run generator or am plugged in to 30 amp service everything is ok. Im thinking maybe its my inverter but how do I test this and what steps should should I take to get this done. And if I do need to replace inverter can anyone tell me what size thanks for the advice.

Elvin and Marquerite Flores
__________________

__________________
CasadeFlores is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-25-2013, 07:56 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by CasadeFlores View Post
So im going to ask a dumb question but I need help with a curious thing. So I was wondering why I don't have power at my outlets at the house but when I run generator or am plugged in to 30 amp service everything is ok. Im thinking maybe its my inverter but how do I test this and what steps should should I take to get this done. And if I do need to replace inverter can anyone tell me what size thanks for the advice.

Elvin and Marquerite Flores
I am not the expert here but I have been working on my 91 for almost a year

By power at the outlets at the house, what do you mean? The coach 120V outlets.

I only get 120V when the Gen is working or I am plugged into a 30 amp service, otherwise all I have is 12V. But what do I know, I'm the guy asking all the dumb questions
__________________

__________________
Bilito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 12:02 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: PNW
Posts: 174
Most older motorhomes only have a converter to charge the batteries and provide 12vdc when the generator is running or the unit is plugged in to shore power. They do not have an inverter to provide 120vac off of the batteries when not plugged in or the generator is not running.

I found the brochure for your model and it only list the converter/charger.

http://media.gowinnebago.com/models/...eftain-bro.pdf

Mike
__________________
mikelcan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:05 PM   #4
Member
 
AdvntureCats's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 79
As-built, your motorhome probably did not have an inverter. If you have one that was installed by a previous owner, the the condition of the house batteries would affect its operation. Also, an inverter would have one or more circuit breakers on its output(s); if tripped, no power will flow.
__________________
Eric & Holly + 2 kitties from New Hampshire
1992 Winnebago Adventurer 32'
AdvntureCats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 11:43 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
airbrushguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 125
I have a 1990 and when I am plugged into any kind of shore power (15 amp at the house or 30 amp) or Generator all my outlets work. When not connected I have 12 volt only due to the lack of a built in inverter. I just use a couple of small inverters in the 12v outlets for my needs
__________________
Network Engineer/Airbrush Artist in Tampa, FL
2006 Pilgrim Open Road 357RL & 1997 Fleetwood Southwind Storm
airbrushguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 08:24 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 197
How do you plug in at home? 30 amp rv plug or adapter to a 15 amp outlet? Have you checked that outlet for power?
__________________
Argosy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 10:51 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
airbrushguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 125
I use a 30 to 15 amp adapter and then plug into a 20 amp GFCI outlet.
It maintains the batteries and lets me use the lights and such but when I run an A/C I tend to pop breakers.
Currently I am running a sub panel to my shed which will provide 100amp service and I am going to run a 30amp plug off that sub panel just for the RV.
__________________

__________________
Network Engineer/Airbrush Artist in Tampa, FL
2006 Pilgrim Open Road 357RL & 1997 Fleetwood Southwind Storm
airbrushguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
winnebago



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.