Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 05-18-2015, 08:04 PM   #1

'93 Itasca Sundancer--no 110v power

First of all, warm greetings to the forum from the Yukon! I am new to RV'ing and having fun playing with and learning about my '93 Itasca Sundancer 500.

But I have run into a puzzle and hope there is some wisdom in the community to help me diagnose the problem. Here are the details: While replacing the house batteries, in spite of thinking I was being careful, I shorted the terminals for a brief moment. Sparks flew, the terminal wingnut fused to the stud, but otherwise over quickly and straightforward to start over with more care...

Once the batteries were installed all seemed in good order, all systems go. I then started the on-board Onan genset, which started fine. But no 110 power to the system. So I checked the breakers--all working fine. I then checked the 30 amp breaker in the battery bay. It had not tripped and was working properly.

I notice that there is a solenoid (isolator?) in the battery bay--Winnebego PN 8188-01-000. So my question: Is it possible that my shorting the battery might have fried the solenoid? And, if the solenoid was fried, would this produce the symptoms I am experiencing?

I have not checked voltage going into the batteries to see if they are charging when the Onan (or the RV engine) is running. I can do this, but am curious if there is anything else I should check?

Thank you to the community for making wisdom and experience available!

Onfoot.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!