Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2013, 07:42 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Lake Ozark, Missouri
Posts: 93
93 Safari Monico Electrical question

I bought this rig for a winter project. I have not hooked it up to 30 or 50 amp service. I do have it plugged into an extension cord. Nothing that draws big current works. Air Conditioning or Dryer (Heat) or furnace. Is that normal? Or do I have another problem..
__________________

__________________
ollison is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-22-2013, 11:11 AM   #2
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
[QUOTE=ollison;1853796]I bought this rig for a winter project. I have not hooked it up to 30 or 50 amp service. I do have it plugged into an extension cord. Nothing that draws big current works. Air Conditioning or Dryer (Heat) or furnace. Is that normal? Or do I have another problem..[/QUOTE

ollison
Check all of the `120VAC circuit breakers, including those on face of the inverter charger.
Check for 120VDC at the outlet the washer/dryer is plugged into.

The air conditioner compressor may not operate on a 15A circuit or a 14 ga. extension cord.
However if the A/C is set to any "fan only" setting, the blower should run.

You certainly do have "another problem" if your propane furnace will not run since it operates only on 12VDC ....(not on 120VAC).

Mel
'96 Safari
__________________

__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 02:21 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Lake Ozark, Missouri
Posts: 93
I need my inverter charger?

My 1800 watt inverter charger hooked up to my house batteries. ? I just had to buy one to replace a faulty on. I have it on the bench now and have finished all the test on it but is not installed. Didn't think it would stop these things from working. I thought it was only aux. electric. I am learning. My dryer turns just no heat. My 2 airs has 2 thermostats on the wall and does nothing. furnace fan dead to. I do have hot wires to air on roof. Clarify again and thank you.
__________________
Dwin E Ollison
ollison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 07:22 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Snowbird - Waterford Mi and Citrus Springs Fl.
Posts: 3,609
Trying to run heavy appliances on a light extension cord, or an inverter, NOT part of a good plan.

The rest should work fine, and if not, should be troubleshooted individually?

The furnace and AC COULD be the same problem, related to the operation of your thermostats, but without a lot more info, nearly impossible for anyone not familiar with your coach to advise?
__________________
1997 37' HR Endeavor, 275hp Cat, Freightliner
03 CR-V Blue Ox, Ready Brake
ahicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 09:01 AM   #5
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
120
Quote:
Originally Posted by ollison View Post
My 1800 watt inverter charger hooked up to my house batteries. ?

I just had to buy one to replace a faulty on.
I have it on the bench now and have finished all the test on it but is not installed.
Didn't think it would stop these things from working.
I thought it was only aux. electric.
I am learning.
My dryer turns just no heat.
My 2 airs has 2 thermostats on the wall and does nothing.
furnace fan dead to.
I do have hot wires to air on roof.
Clarify again and thank you.
ollison
IMO The majority of your electrical problems appear to be 12VDC related.

There are two electrical systems, one 120VAC and the other 12VDC....neither is "aux electric"!

Both 12VDC and 120VAC are necessary for the operation of roof airs with wall thermostats..... (12V for the thermostats 120V for the roof airs).

The propane furnace needs/uses ONLY 12VDC, (and propane), to operate.....
You needed good batteries, and/or a working 120vac to 12VDC converter installed, to run your furnace....(BTW, The same is true for the propane water heater).

Since your dryer "runs but does not heat" it is getting the necessary 120VAC.
The reason it "does not heat" is most likely caused by a blown "thermal fuse", (which is located on the top of the drum, under the top of the the Splendide washer/dryer).
I got replacement fuses from Chris, a Splendide repair guy in Yuma Az, (cellphone number 928-210-0598).

Good luck.

Mel
'96 Safari Sahara
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.