Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2012, 06:02 PM   #1
TRD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 104
Anyone had this problem?

When I crank my generator, if I shut it down in the cab, it will shut down as normal, but blows the fuse on the generator control board. If I shut it down using the shut off switch on the generator, it does fine.

Terry
__________________

__________________
TRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-12-2012, 06:40 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bluff Dale, TX
Posts: 565
Again, give generator info.
Remote start and stop is the same function as local, just longer wires.
__________________

__________________
Most RV batteries live a long and useful life, some are murdered.
2000 National Sea Breeze F53
1998 CRV Toad
garym114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 10:41 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 421
Sounds like you have a short in the switch, or the wiring to that switch.
__________________
Poptop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 10:59 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Rick Long's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Some Place
Posts: 1,161
Send a message via Yahoo to Rick Long
You have a bad ground wire from the switch. Clean where it attaches to ground and you should be ok.
__________________
1999 Fleetwood Bounder 32H
Many Places Full Time
No Dog * No Cat * No Co-Pilot
Rick Long is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 02:32 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poptop View Post
Sounds like you have a short in the switch, or the wiring to that switch.
Agreed.. Usually the cab switch is just connecting a ground to the control board..
__________________
Midniteoyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.