Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-03-2015, 09:45 PM   #1

Batteries 101

Evening All,

Im new to this so here goes. I hope this is the right forum to put this in... i have a 82 apollo, chevy chassis, 454, I have a battery switch that i have to switch to the "both" setting to start the motor. I havent used the "house" battery(s) yet. I have looked at the batteries and if i remmber right i dont think they were deep cycle, just regular auto batteries. Thats part of my problem i assume. Ive looked at trojan batteries as ive heard alot of good things.

My question i suppose is how do i know what size batteries do i need? How do i tell what size would work? Amp hrs etc?

Also how does the charging system work? does the Alt charge both the house and engine batteries while going down the road? or just the auto battery? Just looking for a little 101...

Thanks Yall,

Matt
Sidewinder1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!