Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2016, 12:12 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 25
Camper Rookie needs help

Complete rookie! My mother and recently purchased a 1998-99 Fleetwood Prowler. Everything I have found (which isn't much) says once I plug in I should have power with or without a battery. Don't have a test light for fuses but all the breakers are on. I'm sorry if this is a silly question. But should at least something come on when I plug in with no battery or no? Please help we have to move into this thing in two weeks
__________________

__________________
floridamyway is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-20-2016, 12:22 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,477
Some RV's use the battery to buffer the incoming power, but you still should have power to at least something. Is there a battery cut off (so called "salesmans" switch) that might be off?
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 12:32 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 25
I have no idea. Can't find a manual anywhere. Where do you think I should look for that. I did finally find breakers and fuses. Been spending a lot of time at YouTube university, learning all I can. Not finding our camper at all. But still learning alot
__________________
floridamyway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 01:10 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Welcome to iRV2.
Fleetwood used the Prowler name on many types of RVs is this a travel trailer , or other type?

Your post/ question , got me thinking , other than the clock on my microwave , unless I have something plugged into a 120 volt outlet inside the coach , I don't have any indication the coach is receiving power from the park post or house current .
If there is no battery to supply 12 volt power to the RV lights , then first find the battery box and check that any cables that should be hooked to a battery , aren't shorted to ground. The converter/charger ( the box that puts out the 12 volt power should have fuses or a circuit breaker right on it and if the positive battery cable was touching ground they will be blown or tripped.
If you have to locate the converter/charger, do you know what to look for ?
I can post a picture if you need one.
Sorry I can't say exactly where it is in your RV .
JMHO: I think before you go too much further , you should invest in a 12 volt test light and a multi meter, lots of places you can get both for under $25 .
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 01:20 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 5,904
What are you plugged into?

Is there power at the outlet you are plugged into?

Is it a 30 amp RV outlet?
__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS
Arch Hoagland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 05:34 AM   #6
Senior Member


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,393
floridamyway-

Here's a link to a 1999 Prowler manual you can download. On that Web page, click on the blue "Downlload" link on the right.

There's a line diagram of the electrical system on page 5-7 of the manual, and a description of the 12V converter on page 5-3. Please note that many of these manuals are somewhat "generic" and may not reflect your trailer exactly.

The place to start is to see if you get 120V of AC power in the trailer with the shore cord plugged into a 120V outlet. Start by turning off all the AC breakers in the distribution center. Next, plug in the shore cord. Then turn on the main breaker on the distribution panel. Finally, turn on the 120V breaker that feeds the outlets in the trailer. Plug a 120V device, such as a radio or small fan, into each outlet in the trailer, and see what outlets work off that breaker. Turn off that breaker, then turn on the next 120V breaker and see what works (or doesn't).

One of the 120V circuit breakers feeds the converter. Save that one for last. Then, turn on its circuit breaker, and see if you get any 12V service, such as lights.

That's enough to get you started.

Although your converter should work without a battery, I'd recommend getting one so that you can have 12V service while disconnected from 120VAC power. BUT, don't buy a battery until you confirm that your converter both works and has at least three stages of charging. If you have an original, single-stage charger, it can ruin a battery quickly if left plugged in all the time. This link can explain it better than I can:

The 12volt Side of Life (Part 1)
__________________
Mark
2008 Holiday Rambler Admiral 30PDD (Ford F-53 chassis)
2009 Honda Fit Sport
l1v3fr33ord1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 06:18 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Oldman5145's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 155
Start at the source...If you are plugged in at home, make sure the outside receptacle has not tripped. GFIC very common, and the reset on that could be in a bathroom ground fault. Then move to the camper. If you are plugged into a RV outlet you will need to be sure your power is on at that location. In many RV sites the outlets may not work due to the winter lack of use.
Start your search from the source!
__________________
Oldman5145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 04:24 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 25
Thank you so much. I bought a battery and now have power. The water heater and fridge is not working though. I'm hoping it's just fuses. It's a 1998-99 M-24J travel trailer
__________________
floridamyway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 08:33 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 405
If the refrigerator is a normal RV refrigerator it may be switched to propane. If you don't have propane it won't work. And I'm guessing your water heater will not heat water because it is probably also propane. Check to see if your propane tanks are turned on.
__________________
dustyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 08:44 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Fairbury, Nebraska
Posts: 110
On the fridge not working, sometimes it takes a while for those older refrigerators to cool down, and the camper needs to be level for the fridge to work. (I found that out years ago with first camper the hard way)
__________________
Tightwadted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 08:51 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by dustyone View Post
If the refrigerator is a normal RV refrigerator it may be switched to propane. If you don't have propane it won't work. And I'm guessing your water heater will not heat water because it is probably also propane. Check to see if your propane tanks are turned on.
I have checked those things thank you. The water heater is both 110 and gas the fridge is the same and it is set to auto. The hot water is not putting out any water and I can't find a single shut off/on valve anywhere. I looked at a few of them online and there is a different kind of cap on the drain spout and the valve doesn't seem to be as good as those but there is no water coming out. I'm checking in the am to see if it is even hooked up to the water supply. Will keep you all informed because there will be many more questions. I checked a few min ago and the freezer is getting cold but not the fridge. I'm thinking freon. Thanks for your help
__________________
floridamyway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 08:56 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: michigan-tip of the mitt
Posts: 1,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by floridamyway View Post
I have checked those things thank you. The water heater is both 110 and gas the fridge is the same and it is set to auto. The hot water is not putting out any water and I can't find a single shut off/on valve anywhere. I looked at a few of them online and there is a different kind of cap on the drain spout and the valve doesn't seem to be as good as those but there is no water coming out. I'm checking in the am to see if it is even hooked up to the water supply. Will keep you all informed because there will be many more questions. I checked a few min ago and the freezer is getting cold but not the fridge. I'm thinking freon. Thanks for your help
The fridge is working. Check the frig side in the AM. They don't use freon and can not be charged if they don't work.
__________________
HR 29 fks TT, 1 slide, Chevy Silverado
Next stop?
t55watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 09:09 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by t55watson View Post
The fridge is working. Check the frig side in the AM. They don't use freon and can not be charged if they don't work.
Thanks, that's good to know.
__________________
floridamyway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 09:12 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tightwadted View Post
On the fridge not working, sometimes it takes a while for those older refrigerators to cool down, and the camper needs to be level for the fridge to work. (I found that out years ago with first camper the hard way)
Thanks that's a load off
__________________

__________________
floridamyway is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help rookie find a place AZ-CA along HWY 10-8 MikeD1 Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports 18 11-19-2015 09:20 PM
HWH and full air bags - rookie needs help Snocat4 Monaco Owner's Forum 7 08-19-2014 07:10 PM
Help for a rookie RV'r figure out max weight Lefty78 Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 5 08-07-2013 12:35 AM
Rookie Question-Need Help eparra Class C Motorhome Discussions 13 12-18-2009 09:06 AM
Rookie needs help Jaynee Truck Conversions 5 11-27-2009 09:56 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.