Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 09-20-2008, 02:24 PM   #1

Roughly two weeks ago I purchased a 1984 Chevy/Tioga C30. I knew before the sale it needed brake work. I have no experience at removing duals. Are there any special safety considerations? I have air tools.

Thanks!

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-20-2008, 02:24 PM   #2

Roughly two weeks ago I purchased a 1984 Chevy/Tioga C30. I knew before the sale it needed brake work. I have no experience at removing duals. Are there any special safety considerations? I have air tools.

Thanks!

Old 09-20-2008, 03:23 PM   #3

Texas Boomers Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
There is no problem removing TWO wheels as opposed to just one. Occasionally the wheels will stick together from rust, or the inner wheel will be stuck to the brake drum. You just need to use a little "LIQUID WRENCH" and juggle the wheel back and forth until it loosens up and comes off. Be sure when reinstalling the rear duals you position the VALVE STEMS 180 degrees opposite each other.

Good luck - Glenn
Old 09-21-2008, 02:14 PM   #4