Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2014, 08:51 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 12
Electrical Issue

I recently plugged up my rig to shore power. I left to go the store came back later that night and no power. I checked the breakers and I had one popped it said "Receptacle". Does anyone knows what that is referring to, I'm trying to figure this out but I'm kind of new to everything.
__________________

__________________
Screachin93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-11-2014, 10:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
r___r's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 1,325
Are you referring to the shore power breaker, or, the rig breaker?
__________________

__________________
Rich & Patricia
00 F350 7.3L___89 Terry Resort 25.5
___03 Klamath 30hp

r___r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 12:12 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 12
the rig breaker
__________________
Screachin93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 06:13 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Snowbird - Waterford Mi and Citrus Springs Fl.
Posts: 3,609
To me, that would be the breaker for the receptacles (one, or maybe more) on the coach interior.
__________________
1997 37' HR Endeavor, 275hp Cat, Freightliner
03 CR-V Blue Ox, Ready Brake
ahicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 07:19 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
r___r's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 1,325
'Receptacle' would lead me to the plug outlets that you connect the tv, radio, computer, hair dryer, etc.

What do you have plugged into the outlets? How many of those outlets are being used at the same time? The breaker is only good for a certain amount of amperage. The breaker should have a number on it meaning how many amps the breaker is good for. Each appliance uses a certain amount of amps, and if some are being used at the same time, it's possible that the breaker got overloaded. Use less at the same time.

If your not using any appliances and the breaker tripped, I'd check all the electrical plug outlets with a voltmeter or an outlet tester similar to this: Gardner Bender 120 VAC GFCI Outlet Tester; 1/clam, 5 clams/master-GFI-3501 at The Home Depot. An outlet (receptacle) could be shorted (grounded) out.

Good luck,
__________________
Rich & Patricia
00 F350 7.3L___89 Terry Resort 25.5
___03 Klamath 30hp

r___r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 10:31 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,493
Some units have few branch circuits so one breaker could take out what seems to be everything.

Do an audit...

Place a piece of masking tape on each outlet and breaker...for now.

Label breakers as 1..2..3. Etc

With a test light voltmeter any anything that shows plug works turn off every breaker and then turn on only one breaker at a time and write on the tape which breaker controls it.

When done every outlet should have a number...those that dont are dead or missed so retest and fix if needed.

Converter often is slaved on the same circuit as other things so be sure to check it.

Now make labels or use sharpie to mark them.

Tape was for mistakes.

Now observe what outlets are on what breaker and make note of whete the converter is.

Check size of the breaker and make sure you do not overload it.

My bet is circuit may include converter and batteries may have been low resulting in high drain and maybe something else also on.

Check fridge too.

Ac ususlly dedicated but confirm.
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 08:49 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 12
I turned off all the breakers and turned on one by one and the only that pops is the Receptical breaker. When I left that breaker off everything else worked so I started to look at the plug ins. I don't have anything plugged in at all but I did notice that the plug in the restroom is the only different one its the plug with the test and reset button on it
__________________
Screachin93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 09:08 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,493
That is a gfi.

You still need to figure out what is on tge circuit so you can fix it.
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 09:17 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 12
ok so that plug is a gfi ok so ill start there and check all the others as well
__________________
Screachin93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 09:40 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,493
You need to do a full audit so you know for sure which outlets are on which circuit.

A friends southwind has converter and about 4 others on same ckt.

Some outlets like converter one are way out of the way.

When have them labeled then it is easy to check the ones on the bad circuit.
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 09:51 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 12
ok so see which ones work will the breaker is still popped and mark with tape and numbers on which is on which circuit just want to make sure I read and understand it correctly
__________________
Screachin93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 07:17 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Snowbird - Waterford Mi and Citrus Springs Fl.
Posts: 3,609
I'm lost.

You said in your first note that a breaker had popped, and you had no power. Please add some detail regarding "no power". What isn't working?
__________________
1997 37' HR Endeavor, 275hp Cat, Freightliner
03 CR-V Blue Ox, Ready Brake
ahicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 09:41 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Philliec's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Crested Butte, Colorado
Posts: 183
I am not sure if this applies, but a while back all my 110v went out. It ended up being a small white circuit breaker pin that popped out on the inverter. I pushed it back in and all was well.
__________________
Craig
2008 HR Neptune XL
2012 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Philliec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 10:32 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 12
when It first popped the breaker inside my rig I lost power to my whole rig I found that me breaker popped. I tried them all out and found the "receptacle" breaker was the one giving me issues, now im in the process of tracking down the reason. Ill have to look at my invertor and see but I have everything working when I leave the receptical breaker off
__________________

__________________
Screachin93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2014 36LA strange electrical issues? Roger G Tiffin Motorhomes Owners Forum 12 07-27-2014 06:30 PM
Water Pump...Electrical Larry Geese Monaco Owner's Forum 5 04-23-2014 09:36 AM
W22 Ignition Issue - please read this jmlarence Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 28 07-01-2013 02:30 PM
2000 Aero Cub Electrical Problem?? stevereid Expandables, Hybrids, & Lightweights Discussion 1 06-07-2013 03:41 PM
Shocking electrical problem! truetreky RV Systems & Appliances 7 05-30-2013 06:53 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.