Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 05-27-2015, 03:28 PM   #1

Electrical question (71 Layton TT)

Hi all,

I am new to this TT thing. I have a 71 Layton that I just purchased last week. Had a bit of time to open the windows and let air in and decided to hook it up to the power socket of my truck. Nothing seemed to have power on the inside. I found the breaker box and both the switches were on. I checked the battery box outside and it was empty. Would I be correct to guess that without the battery installed, no power to the inside event if hooked up to an outside source???

Tony in NM

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-27-2015, 06:00 PM   #2

You should have a power cord somewhere on the exterior of your trailer to hook up to shore power (110 v). Plug that in, and you should have lights and live outlets, because the 110 volt AC power should go to your converter and be converted thereby to 12 volts to power your lights and water pump and the 110 will remain unchanged for things like TV, microwave and wall sockets.