Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 06-09-2012, 03:16 PM   #1

Filling the propane tank

This is going to sound like a real newby question, and I guess it is. I've had my Holiday Rambler Imperial for 3 years and have gone on short trips a number of times. I have a larger than normal propane tank since the MH was originally set up as dual fuel (propane and gasoline). I have finally run out of propane and I need to fill the tank. But, this is something I have never done before. How do you go about filling the on board tank of a motorhome? Do I just drive it to a propane dealer and just say, "Fill it up!" Do propane dealers know how to fill a motorhome?

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-09-2012, 03:19 PM   #2

I got mine filled at a U-Haul place. Anywhere that fills propane tanks and has a large storage tank with a long hose should be able to fill it without any problems. Some places just want to exchange the small portable tanks so they might not be able to help you.

Old 06-09-2012, 03:23 PM   #3

Do I just drive it to a propane dealer and just say, "Fill it up!"
Yes