Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2012, 11:49 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
rtmow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 15
Generator runs - no power to coach??

I'm new here, so don't assume that I know.
I need help in determining what is going on with my generator - coach power. Here's the problem: I fired up generator not knowing that I had my camper (1983 Holoday Rambler - Presendential 33) plugged into shore power. Long story short, now my coach does not have power when generator is running. The shore power works fine.

I did reset breakers on generator and the breakers in coach panel box and still nothing.
I also tested voltage output at generator and have 120 volts. But it's not supplying power inside of coach.

I should add that there is an outlet in the shore power (bumper) area and when I plug into that outlet with the generator running,the generator suppies power to coach.

I've done some research here on the forum and it would appear that it is the transfer relay; however, I can't find the transfer relay nor do I know what it looks like. Is the converter and transfer relay the same?
The pictures I pulled up on the net don't look like anything i've seen.

I did trace shore power cord into house coach and to panel box, but I still can't locate or id.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Todd
__________________

__________________
rtmow is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-24-2012, 11:59 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 2,268
One question where you store the shore power. Cord on mine I have to plug mine into a outlet inside the cord storage area I have no transfer switch
__________________

__________________
whem2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 12:11 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
rtmow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 15
I assumed that I have a tranfer switch.........
__________________
rtmow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 12:25 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
rtmow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 15
Ok, I went out and started generator and plugged coach power cord into outlet - and power is restored to coach with generator running.......maybe that was the problem, I don't have a transfer switch, man I have so much to learn.
__________________
rtmow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 01:26 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
sirpurrcival's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtmow View Post
Ok, I went out and started generator and plugged coach power cord into outlet - and power is restored to coach with generator running.......maybe that was the problem, I don't have a transfer switch, man I have so much to learn.
Don't feel too bad. When I first got my Class A, I assumed that the nice little receptical in my compartment wall where the power cord connects to the coach was just to keep the loose end of the cord from flopping around when the vehicle was in motion.

Like you, I had to run the generator and then puzzle why it didn't seem to be powering the coach. Of course I figured it out before I posted on a huge forum for all to see my shame
__________________
1999 - National Tropi Cal
sirpurrcival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 02:30 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
rtmow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 15
Yep, that's the way i feel.
__________________
rtmow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 10:17 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
QuietWater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West Central MO
Posts: 328
Have you figured out the air conditioner arrangement, yet? You can only run one a/c on shore power. There is a lever behind a cabinet door near the floor that selects the front or back a/c. When you are on the generator you can run both.
__________________
1984 Holiday Rambler Imperial
QuietWater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 10:24 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtmow View Post
Ok, I went out and started generator and plugged coach power cord into outlet - and power is restored to coach with generator running.......maybe that was the problem, I don't have a transfer switch, man I have so much to learn.

Same as mine, no transfer switch. The plug is your transfer switch by plugging it into shore power or the outlet which is your generator.
__________________
jimbo16720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 10:31 PM   #9
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
RTmow...........no transfer switch means one less thing to ultimately replace. Sometimes you have to look hard for the good side of a problem.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 01:13 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
sirpurrcival's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by KIX View Post
RTmow...........no transfer switch means one less thing to ultimately replace. Sometimes you have to look hard for the good side of a problem.
It's true actually. When I don't have it plugged into shore power, I just plug it into the generator. No fail, no other item to have to diagnose if there is a power generation issue. And so long as I am consistent in plugging it into the generator when not connected to shore power, I don't have to get out in the rain when I do need to run off the the genny.
__________________

__________________
1999 - National Tropi Cal
sirpurrcival is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.