Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2015, 06:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 60
Hydraulic Radiator Fan Thermostat

G'Day guys,
I have an 88 Monaco with a 3208 Turbo and Hydraulic Radiator Fan. The fan seems to cut in very early, about 180 degrees and only runs for under a minute before turning off but shortly after will turn On again for another 30 seconds to a minute.

Obviously, the Fan is thermostatically controlled but to my understanding, the temperature setting on the thermostat is set too cold. Are the Thermostats adjustable or if fixed, is it possible to replace the thermostat with a higher temperature unit, perhaps 190 degress. Would the Thermostat be located in the Radiator tank or on the engine.

Appreciate any help.
Regards
Rod
__________________

__________________
Rod33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-05-2015, 11:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
oldmattb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 303
Not familiar with your particular coach, but many older DPs have what is generically called a wax valve. It is usually mounted on the radiator. Mine is on the side of the radiator closest to the engine, and has two hydraulic hoses attached to it. It regulates a flow of hydraulic fluid to the fan, and acts like a variable switch.

If the flow is uninterrupted, the fan runs slow or not at all. If the flow is blocked, the fan runs full-speed. One can, with about $8 of parts from a hardware store, combine the hoses to and from the wax valve, and then cap them off to check operation of the system other than the wax valve.

Wax valves are very hardy, pretty expensive ($400 and up), but they can go bad. Mine is not adjustable.

On our coach, the fan ran furiously at cold idle. I learned that my coach had a built-in restrictor to make the fan run in order to keep the air conditioner head pressure down. On advice of experts, I drilled out the restrictor to calm the fan down some.

Searching this site for "wax valve" will help you a lot with your questions.
__________________

__________________
Matt B
1998 Monaco Windsor
oldmattb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 02:43 AM   #3
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 60
Thanks Matt,
appreciate the info mate and I'll look further into the 'Wax Valve'.
__________________
Rod33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 11:59 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Gilleshps's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 166
I have the same engine, the thermostats are located on the front of the engine (back of the coach). The 3208T uses two thermostats, and on my coach, the radiator fill line is connected to the thermostat housing. They are not adjustable, I replaced mine a couple years ago.
__________________
Gilleshps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 08:28 PM   #5
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilleshps View Post
I have the same engine, the thermostats are located on the front of the engine (back of the coach). The 3208T uses two thermostats, and on my coach, the radiator fill line is connected to the thermostat housing. They are not adjustable, I replaced mine a couple years ago.
Thanks Gilleshps,
I did see a couple of Thermostats on the front of the Engine, close to one another. One is not connected and I can't see any wire in close proximity to it. The other one does have a wire connected but I wasn't sure if this was for the Fan or perhaps the Dash Gauge.
I was told there was one in the top radiator tank for the fan but haven't been able to sight it yet.
Regards
Rod
__________________
Rod33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 09:51 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Gilleshps's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 166
You're welcome Rod, I don't think there's any wire connected directly to my thermostat housing but I'll take a couple pics in the morning and post them for you.

My hydraulic fan rarely runs where i can hear it unless I'm pulling a hill, and my toad is an E250 3/4 ton extended van which is pretty well loaded. And my coach is 32k GVWR too, so I'm pulling a pretty good load.
__________________
Gilleshps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 10:17 PM   #7
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilleshps View Post
You're welcome Rod, I don't think there's any wire connected directly to my thermostat housing but I'll take a couple pics in the morning and post them for you.

My hydraulic fan rarely runs where i can hear it unless I'm pulling a hill, and my toad is an E250 3/4 ton extended van which is pretty well loaded. And my coach is 32k GVWR too, so I'm pulling a pretty good load.
Thanks mate,
appreciate some pics to give me a better idea. Now that you've pointed me in the right direction, I can always remove the wire while the engine is running and see what affect it has. If it it the fan Thermostat wire, shorting it to ground should kick the fan in.
__________________
Rod33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 10:15 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Gilleshps's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 166
Ok I took a couple pics for you. There is a sensor below the housing, but I'm not sure that's the coolant temp sensor. Do you have the book Rod? If not I have one.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1751917923.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	564.1 KB
ID:	107518   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4043308511.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	527.4 KB
ID:	107519  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3542220075.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	540.1 KB
ID:	107520  
__________________
Gilleshps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 09:21 PM   #9
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilleshps View Post
Ok I took a couple pics for you. There is a sensor below the housing, but I'm not sure that's the coolant temp sensor. Do you have the book Rod? If not I have one.
Hmm, looks a little different to mine and my Temp sender only has one wire. I need to check if mine is in the water pump housing or in the actual block.
I have a heap of reading material from the previous owner. Best I pull my finger out and start reading.
Thanks for all your help Gilleshps.
__________________
Rod33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 08:41 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Gilleshps's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 166
Lol, ok Rod let me know what you find out. You're welcome!
__________________
Gilleshps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2015, 06:35 PM   #11
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilleshps View Post
Lol, ok Rod let me know what you find out. You're welcome!
Well, after following wires from the Fan Solenoid to the Relay and further, I found the Fan Switch/Thermostat located in the bottom radiator hose. I removed it and found a series of numbers on it but was unable to find the part using Google. The last numbers were 160 so I'm going to assume that the 160 represents the Temperature at which the Thermostat closes to trigger the fan. I've ordered an Australian manufactured Fan Switch, rated at 180 degrees(F) and will see how that goes. Since I've had to drain the entire colling system to get the Thermostat out, I may as well use the opportunity to put new Cat ELC Coolant in it.
Thanks again for your help Gilleshps.
__________________

__________________
Rod33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fan, radiator, thermostat



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RVComfort.zc Thermostat Lockup tmzulim Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 40 01-29-2017 08:50 AM
Dometic Analog Thermostat Compatability Cougarkid RV Systems & Appliances 10 12-19-2016 05:42 AM
Thermostat Failure Rusty Bear Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 22 05-02-2016 11:49 AM
TruAir Thermostat Problems? stevesherard Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 1 01-11-2015 08:28 PM
RVComfort.zc thermostat "00" error jerichorick Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 0 08-13-2014 07:38 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.