Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-09-2018, 09:17 AM   #1

Arrow I Want to Remodel

As many of you are already aware, my kids and I decided at the start of this summer to embrace living minimally with the end goal of traveling the country next summer. This summer we stayed relatively local within Florida. The summer came with quite the learning curve but overall we had an enjoyable time. I am a teacher and work and school has begun again so for now we are parked and I would like to begin working on this ancient rig of mine but I am at a loss of where to begin, what changes to make, if said changes are even possible. I have considered hiring help, doing it myself, and somewhere in between but I do not know anyone willing to help, I do not own my own tools needed to make repairs and reconstruct new ideas.

I already made some repairs and repainted the inside. I ripped up the carpet and there is a soft spot in one part of the flooring. After spending the summer full time RVing, I have also learned there is some water damage but it doesn't seem to be current or major. I have also resealed everything although I did not make it a pretty job.

So I am wondering, what would you do? We were going to just upgrade but after reading through that other thread vintage vs. new, I think we have decided to invest in our 1989 Coachmen Class C with under 60K miles. Some things I want to change or replace...