Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2016, 08:44 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Wbonsell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Poulsbo, WA
Posts: 429
Likely problem with Genset rocker switch?

Tried starting my Onan 7000 genset yesterday from the inside cabin rocker switch. Nothing happened but was able to start the gen from outside. Is there a fuse which controls the switch or more than likely the switch has failed and needs replacement?

If the latter, any idea where I can find the switch. Looks like there are about four wires going to it. Thanks...
__________________

__________________
Bill and Debb---2010 CT Coachworks Siena 35V
1999 Jeep Cherokee Sport---Roadmaster Falcon 5250 -
1 Cavalon (Scooby)
Wbonsell is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-21-2016, 08:55 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Hit_the_Rhod's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Salvisa, KY
Posts: 2,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wbonsell View Post
Tried starting my Onan 7000 genset yesterday from the inside cabin rocker switch. Nothing happened but was able to start the gen from outside. Is there a fuse which controls the switch or more than likely the switch has failed and needs replacement?

If the latter, any idea where I can find the switch. Looks like there are about four wires going to it. Thanks...
If you could post a pic of the front and back of the switch, I'm sure someone can help you! Without it, we're all just guessing. Glad you have the backup with the outside switch, even if it IS inconvenient to start. Just out of curiosity, will the inside switch shut the genny off after it is running?
__________________

__________________
Scot & Laura Kellersberger
Newmar 4 wheel drive Dutch Star 3891, 2005 GMC Canyon. Demco Tow Bar & Baseplate U.S.Army (ret)
1985 - 2006
Hit_the_Rhod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 11:56 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
scdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 105
I have a Generac genset and the reverse problem you have. the start switch on the genset was bad while the start switch inside worked. I took the switch out and checked it with an ohm meter then bought one out of Ebay. My problem was solved.

I would pull your switch and check it for continuity and I would bet you will find the switch bad. Just get a new one if it is bad snd if not you have eliminated one source of the problem
__________________
1996 Rexhall Aerbus.
1925 Ford Model T Touring
1926 Ford Model T Fodor
scdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 07:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Washington County, PA
Posts: 55
I had same problem with mine. This is what I found, but this is not the only solution, the generator when started from the rear and shut off from rear;switch stuck in "stop at rear which does not allow a front start. The unit is locked out. I replaced the toggle switches on the generator board, from Onan. If the generator is mounted behind the rear dual wheels the pc boards get moisture + DC =corrosion. Electrical and mechanical.

Try starting from rear and stopping from front. then start from front and shut off from the front. If it now operates from front the above solution could help.
__________________
electrowood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2016, 09:58 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
QuietWater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West Central MO
Posts: 328
There is a plastic connector on the generator where all the wires go into the housing. It gets corroded. Just wiggle it a few times and then try the switch again. I'll bet it works.
__________________
1984 Holiday Rambler Imperial
QuietWater is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converter or transfer switch problem Beas1979 RV Systems & Appliances 7 12-28-2015 01:52 PM
Transfer switch problem jackofalltra New Member Check-In 1 11-16-2015 04:45 PM
Bypass Switch for BIRD hikersc Thor Industries Owner's Forum 13 08-19-2015 02:18 AM
Trimark Paddle Latch Problem kpnestor Class A Motorhome Discussions 1 11-16-2014 09:15 PM
Power Problem punkutsu Gulf Stream Owner's Forum 3 05-20-2014 06:34 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.