Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Old 12-22-2010, 07:28 PM   #1
My first RV project - 79 Holiday Rambler Imperial 5000

Hi everyone! I am total noob to RVs and fixing things so I am really glad I found this forum and I hope some of you will be able to provide some advice insight and help with my project. I just purchased a 1979 Holiday Rambler Imperial 5000 off craigslist for $1,000. This RV has a ford 460 engine but come to think of it I'm not exactly sure how long it is...

It had been sitting in a storage yard for about 3 years. When I went to go look at it we put a new battery in and (eventually) we got the engine to start up and run for a few seconds before it would stall. Each time we started it after that the engine would run for longer and longer but still would stall after about a minute tops. Still, when the engine was running it sounded strong. The guy I bought it from said he bought it about 4 years ago and he said he drove it pretty hard and it seemed to run good then but he never ended up using it and it just sat.

Anyway, here's the work I'm having done on it this week in the hopes that it will be drivable when it's all said and done. I'm getting a complete tune up, replacing the spark plugs, filters, hoses, oil change and changing all the fluids. I'm also having new wheels and tires put on. The guy at the lot who is putting the tires on for me said he will check the brakes for me and look for any potential problems although when last driven supposedly the brakes were good.

Is there anything else I am forgetting that is majorly important? Make some suggestions because while the mechanic is doing the tune up and replacing parts I could tell him to do something else too if it's a must to get it running safely!

Aside from that, what potential problems should I look for next?