Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > Vintage RV's
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Old 08-28-2011, 04:16 PM   #1
Question Need advice regarding flooring repairs+ :)

Hello all! I am a newbie to all of this- rv ownership, this site, repairing flooring, you name it I am clueless. Hahaha. Ok,ok... so maybe not that bad but I am in need of some advice from anyone that has at least some experience with this stuff.

We have just purchased an 87 Winnebago chieftain that is in some what rough shape. We are not planning on using this for much more than occasional camping trips up the coast or to the desert. We got such a deal, $1500- we just couldnt pass it up. 43000mi, just about new trans w/only 8000 miles on it. Runs great! We are very happy. Until i go inside and get transported back into 1987 decor hell. Haha. But I will tackle that just as soon as I take care of the few "issues" this beauty has. The flooring first off. YUCK city. The previous owner ripped out the carpeting and put peel & stick down. I want pergo or something similar. It is pretty obvious before even removing the tile that there is some water damage below them.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0746 (960x1280).jpg
Views:	69
Size:	597.6 KB
ID:	13364 Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0743 (1280x960).jpg
Views:	67
Size:	575.8 KB
ID:	13363

I am wondering the best/most affordable/easiest way to tackle this. Should I remove all the tiles & try and patch the subflooring? Or should I just lay plywood over whats there and put my flooring over that? Or can you give me some new suggestions? Because as I said earlier I am clueless!!!